I have sewing lined up….for me!

MAZ_3212MAZ_3213MAZ_3214MAZ_3215

We are off to Northern Spain via France at the end of May so I need to set aside some time to make at least 2 of these dresses.

The pink dress is incredibly easy so I might make that one first, the long ties change the style of the dress so it will either be a pain to wear or a complete favourite!

I’ve got another pattern for a wrap around stretch fabric dress which I am aiming to make with the last fabric.

The stripey fabric and pattern are really calling to me though, can’t wait to make that one and then there is that black/cream/blue fine cotton lawn to deal with…I used to be able to make a dress in a day but feel sadly that those days are long gone, especially as I am now enjoying Vintage patterns which have much more tailoring involved.

~*~

Today I have dyed up half of the club fibre, the other half is soaking ready for the dyes…it is so pretty and the fibre is so erm….yummy!! I also have a few orders for Interchangeable needle Organisers and bags so I’ll get those done before I start on my dresses.

~*~

I am feeling a tad melancholy at the moment, we left my Mum on Sunday after spending a week nursing her after a total knee replacement.  Mum lives in Northern Ireland, we live in Cambridgeshire and there are 12 hours travelling between us if we drive and use the ferry from Holyhead to Dublin. On a happy note, Mum is doing so well and could bend her poor knee on the day we picked her up from the hospital so she was comfortable in our car on the 2 hour drive from the hospital to her house.

I would have liked to have stayed longer and helped Mum more but of course, Barry has to work so we left her in the capable hands of my sister Lizbeth and her husband Jim. They are staying for 2 weeks. I hope Mum can progress even more in those 2 weeks so that she will be safe to be in her own company. It is so pretty in NI at this time of year, the weather is very changeable, as it is every where in April but more so over there.

Barry managed to go out on the Saturday evening and capture an amazing sunset, I’ll add a photo or two when he has finished editing the photographs.  I hardly left Mum’s side all week, we had a happy, calm week with her and enjoyed seeing my brother Matt, his lovely wife Sylvia and their entertaining daughter Sara, who popped in to see us most evenings. It’s Matt’s birthday today, Happy Birthday Bruvva Winking smile

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have sewing lined up….for me!

  1. Annie says:

    Hi Marianne
    Glad you are home, safe and well. Also glad that Mum is making such fantastic progress. I will see you soon
    Take care
    Annie x

  2. Mart says:

    Thought I’d look up me old mate Picperfic! Seems I’ve found you! Glad you seem to be doing ok Maz. I just went on Ping for a nostalgia trip but the site has been changed again and all me piccies have gone!!! Glad Mavis is doing well and hope Baz is fighting fit!

  3. Kath says:

    Those vintage patterns are lovely and have been calling me as well!! I know just what you mean about being a bit more than just a day job to make them up having just finished one of my own :) I look forward to seeing the results of yours!
    Glad to hear your Mum’s doing well – it’s always so hard to leave them behind and go back home isn’t it? I’m lucky that Mum is only 2 hours away but even that seems too far away. There are direct ferries to Belfast from Birkenhead – would that ease your journey at all?

Leave a Reply

