Melbourne–Week 1

I am keeping a journal of my time in Melbourne, keeping myself busy whilst Barry works….We arrived early Sunday morning and it took me a while to get my body clock sorted. I found the journal app for my phone so there may be some spelling mistakes or mismatched words because of the auto correct function on my phone

DSC_1793-001

2012-08-28 13:31

Tuesday

Feeling Better

Woke about 7am :-) feeling more human. Knitting second half of my BMC. ‘Feeling like I should get on a train to Melbourne but just not brave enough yet. Tummy still a bit upset. Relaxing is good…

DSC_1794-001

22.14 feeling poorly, sore throat :-( might be hayfever…

2012-08-29 09:24

Wednesday

Tram to Melbourne

Woke up feeling miserable today so gave myself a bit of a talking to!e

After breakfast with Barry and seeing him off to work I got myself ready for a trip into Melbourne.

I need change for the tram ticket…a bit worried that I’ll do the wrong thing and get lost. Watch this space!

Walked up to train station as you can’t buy a ticket on tram anymore. Asked for help at station but she was foreign and didn’t understand me. I then walked to a nearby shop and asked for help. She directed me to the P.O. I queued in there only to be told that they no longer sold tickets for the train. I was directed to a newsagents which was nearly back where we live, and finally managed to buy a ticket.

After all that activity I needed a coffee so stopped for one at the friendly cafe where we ate on Sunday.

DSC_1802-001

Got on train to Melbourne and got off at Flinders Street.

DSC_1831-001

DSC_1803-001

Followed my map to find Morris & Sons, which I thought was a department store so walked up and down Collins Street a few times (it’s a very long and wide road!) until I noticed a sign showing some knitting on some needles, went in and it was the place itself.

DSC_1822-001

A really lovely and friendly shop…..I loved it in there!

Bought some yarn and a long needle cable and asked about a quilting shop and was given excellent directions. I’ll go there another day!

Bought 2 cupcakes, a red gel pen for Barry and made my way home.

Very pleased with myself…..

Having a sit down now and a cuppa!

P.S. The weather was gorgeous!

2012-08-30 11:07

Thursday

Settling In

Having a less busy day today. Walked into the town just now. Love the name of the high street, Puckle Street… Norman Pitkin would be happy here! Incidentally, Barry has found out that Dame Edna Everedge hauls from Moonee Ponds, there’s a road named after her nearby.

I found a lovely shopping mall just off Puckle Street. Just following other shoppers I eventually came across a whole level devoted to food! Much cleaner looking than the first supermarket that we found on our first day here. I bought chicken, curry sauce and rice for tea today.

Now I’m home and will either spin or knit, I’m enjoying slowing down the pace….

Not as warm as yesterday but not raining yet.

Two days on the trot I have left the apartment early and hoped to come back to a made bed etc….seems I have to make our bed myself every day except Tuesday when they do a full clean up!

2012-08-31 08:53

Friday

Feeling a bit tearful today. I’m not much good on my own for too long…Maybe I’ll feel better for going up Puckle Street again. We need supplies…

I’m not much good eating out all the time. Seems wrong to buy ingredients when we are not staying long. The other problem is that I can’t carry much

I’m not much good cooking in a strange kitchen either.

I’m looking forward to the weekend with my husband.

I’m going to look in the guide book to see if anything else takes my fancy.

Made a delicious meatloaf using an AWW recipe. Will make again. Delicious! We’ll have it tomorrow in a baguette…

you can read about week 2 here

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Melbourne–Week 1

  1. mareelouise says:

    Hi
    How long are you in Melbourne for? There’s a couple of lovely stitch’n’bitch groups in the Moonee Ponds area, I’m sure the girls would love to meet you!

    • picperfic says:

      I’m here for another 4 weeks mareelouise…I’ll send you an email ;)

      • Heather says:

        Hi! (For some reason I can’t find the way to respond to your top most journal entry, so I’m posting here!) Wow! Australia – one place I have never been but plan on seeing soon. I head off with Peace Corps for Mozambique in 2 weeks and will miss having my assortment of knitting needles and crochet hooks. I saw your lovely body washcloth and am used to seeing those waves accomplished by crochet (in fact, i have made similar dishcloths myself by crochet) ; how did you accomplish that by knitting? By the way, when I eat at restaurants for an extended time, I, too, begin to feel icky – not such good mood, not such good sleep, etc. Hoping you are beginning to feel better! Happy Sunday from Richmond, Virginia, U.S.A.! : )

  2. josiekitten says:

    From your Ravelry pages you have been amazingly prolific with your knitting! Glad you are exploring and getting some yarny experiences!

  3. sue says:

    How wonderful that your in Melbourne, just in time for Spring. The weather this week should be nice and lovely. Your only about 40 minutes from me by car. There are quite a few yarn shops around, and if you get bored you can catch a train to Canterbury and visit the Sunspun store or go to Williamstown and visit The Stitchery shop which has patchwork, sewing and knitting supplies, just a beautiful shop! I hope that you enjoy your stay here.

  4. Pingback: Melbourne–Week 3 | Picperfic's Blog

Leave a Reply

