Pouffy Pants and a New Jacket

I have been sewing, Kwiksew Pattern 3957 and some Poofy Pants

The jacket was so lovely to put together, I used some lovely fleece fabric from John Lewis for the outer layer and for the lining I used some adorable spotty stretch cotton fabric. The hardest part for me was choosing which fabric to use for the trim…I did make some bias binding in a paler colour and it just didn’t look right so I removed it from the jacket and made some more binding but this time in red which looked great with the red zip as well

I just love how the fleece and the stretch cotton fabric feel now they are together. Very touchable, soft and squidgy lol

Then I thought that perhaps I aught to make some Poofy pants to complete the outfit. I am trying to use fabric from my stash and since I have folded my fabrics onto Comic Backing Boards and placed them neatly in rows in my Ikea unit, I could find a good fabric to compliment the jacket. I used the same fabrics for the lining and the trims so it brings the whole outfit together

I also used some of that clever buttonhole elastic for the waist.
For the trousers I just lengthened the 6-9 month size by 5cm in the leg and by 2cm at the waist as I think that there is enough width in that size for a little girl that is toddling around now

I am also enjoying a bit of spindling on my absolutely new Egret Spindle from the very talented maker, Ed Jenkins…the Daisy is my request and Ed cleverly drew it onto my spindle. I love it very much, it is both useful and beautiful, so it’s definitely a keeper…can you tell that i am decluttering again :)

The fibre is some of my Halo blend, I have just 50 grams to spin up as the other half went to my swap pal in America. I was sent another 50grammes of some Targee top which I have to spin and then ply with my Halo singles. It is great fun, I’ve been a bit slow to get going, but now I have made a start, I can’t stop! The swap is going on in the Jenkins Woodworking Lovers Group on Ravelry

Talking of Ravelry Groups, there’s a thread for an informal Ravellenics Challenge in my own group, do pop over and see if you’d like to join in, we’d love to have you take part and I might even offer a braid of fibre as a prize for one lucky person!

I am now in a position to make a few more of my Wigwams…so if you’ve been wanting one, do keep a look out on my Facebook Page or Ravelry Group for shop updates :D

Happy Crafting!

http://www.picperfic.co.uk

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2014, family, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pouffy Pants and a New Jacket

  1. josiekitten says:

    I love the bias binding you made, it is so pretty. I have not tried spinning on a spindle, it’s something I’d like to learn sometime. It would be fun to have a portable spinning project!

    • picperfic says:

      It took me a while to be confident with a drop spindle…lots of drops!!! Now I just love it, sitting whilst spinning gives your shoulders and arms a good work out too :)

  2. ashlityre says:

    Love your Egret- what a beauty!

  3. Lovely bright fabric. I can’t get on with a drop spindle but I spin really fine with a wheel (I have an Ashford Kiwi known as Kylie because she is small, clever and very talented!).

Leave a Reply

