Machine Knitting

My old Knitmaster 360 knitting machine almost fell to pieces, it was over 30 years old!! The plastic was discoloured and brittle and pieces kept breaking off, then it fell over in the garage where it was being stored and broke into quite a few pieces. So it was taken to the dump…the needles were rusted in places so there wasn’t much left of that machine that could be salvaged

So Barry, being the darling that he is, kept asking me to look for a new machine, I wasn’t sure that I needed one, but persist he did and so with a little trepidation, I ordered a new Silver Reed 280 with a ribber. In all honesty, I was a bit scared about making such a big decision, after all, I have plenty of other hobbies that are crying out for my attention

On Monday last week I was feeling a bit off…then by Monday night I was really ill, with what I think was the Norovirus….eugh…nuff said!!! I really didn’t like being ill on my own, Barry was working in Iceland but his lovely texts and phone calls kept me company, he’s such a darling xx

My shiny new knitting machine just kept on looking at me…I knit a few tension squares and then crept back under the safety of the blanket on the sofa and continued to plough my way through the box set of Grey’s Anatomy…I love that show…still got loads of episodes to watch

I started to feel a bit better on Thursday and yesterday, Friday, I was still feeling queasy, as I am today…but I’m sure I’m on the mend.

Anyway, yesterday, I knitted the pieces of a Fair Isle Jumper using one of my old punch cards. I was using a 50/50 blend of cotton and acrylic and the machine was ok with it, just didn’t love it. It might be me still needing to get to know my new machine, I was glad to have got all the machine knitting done so I could go and sit and sew it up

I am quite pleased with how it turned out, a bit worried that the floats might cause the wearer to get annoyed though…I will warn that they will be troublesome. I am pleased to have got the first one off the needles and am giving a lot of thinking to what I will make next…a cardigan for me I think, but what style shall I choose….?

http://www.picperfic.co.uk

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2014, knitting, machine knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Machine Knitting

  1. Beautiful sweater, you might want to look at a jacquard technique to cut down on the floats.

    I’ve just got back into machine knitting again, I have a Passap E6000 up and running, and a Foster Victoria Circular Sock Machine, and a Brother electronic machine. I got my City & Guilds in Machine Knitting many years ago.

  2. Robin Crittenden says:

    What about Barry?

  3. josiekitten says:

    Wow! That looks stunning! I never got bitten by the knitting machine bug, but your sweater looks fabulous. Hope you are feeling better now, you poor thing. xx

  4. Homecraft says:

    So lovely!

Leave a Reply

