Decisions and Designing

I have been designing for the knitting machine again…this time a fitted cardigan, with tuck detail on the waist and cuffs, I used Yeoman Yarn’s Sari, another beautiful yarn to work with. The design looks simple enough but the detail on it is quite complex and will need a fair bit of detailed instruction. I will be creating many sizes for this design, this one is the first size and fits a 32″ bust measurement, it needs a few tweaks but I’m very pleased with the outcome

~*~

For quite some time, I have been mulling over the idea of not exhibiting at Fibre-East this year and finally made the decision a couple of days ago…it felt like a great weight had been lifted from my shoulders. The build up to a show is immense, the workload is never ending until the day of the show and then all the hard work pays dividends. Meeting so many of my lovely customers, chatting, advising…I love all of that but even with the thought of those rewards I knew that for me, it was going to be impossible this year

Barry has to go to Australia again soon and this time I’d like to go with him, hopefully he will take some holiday one side of the 2 weeks working…in fact, he keeps popping off to so many lovely new places and I would like the freedom to choose whether I go with him or not

I simply need to slow down a little…my 2 youngest Granddaughter’s are growing so fast, I keep buying fabric and patterns to make them some dinky outfits but the thought of all the dyeing and sewing I needed to do for FE kept stopping me…so now, I can make a few things without a guilty conscience

I could be in danger of filling my new found spare time with more interesting projects though………

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Designing, Fibre-East, machine knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Decisions and Designing

  1. josiekitten says:

    Love that fitted waist detail, you are so clever with your designs Marianne. How great that you might be visiting Australia again this summer. Don’t worry about FE, it will be there another year if you want to be there. You have to do what feels right for you. xx

    • picperfic says:

      I am happy that I made the decision not to attend…I can even watch Wimbledon without feeling guilty this year :D

      On 1 June 2014 17:51, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

  2. Sharon Snyder says:

    love yo9ur seaters and was wondering if any are done on the bulky

  3. I really love the tuck detail at the waist – it hints at a peplum and looks really elegant. Ps thanks for the mention in your last post :)

Leave a Reply

