Excluding Draughts

Barry has been very busy, he is making a shelving unit for our bathroom.  He keeps bringing bits of it in to show me and I am so impressed with his woodworking skills.  I hope all the bits fit together!
Whilst I was watching my man at work I took a photo of my new Alpine bed through the conservatory window.  All the little plants look happy to have been planted.  We had had some snow that morning so I was reluctant to go outside and do some closer photo work. Also, the floor was covered in sawdust and I didn’t want to walk through it in my woolly slippers. There is a very pretty primula in there.  I have left the labels on for now as I need to learn their names.  My Mum can just tell you what everything is, what a memory! I notice that my little tree looks a bit wonky, I better get out there and straighten her up…
This is such a draughty house, we can’t quite work out where the draughts are coming from so we have bought a friend or two to help keep the cold at bay.  Sorry about the messy carpet, sawdust gets everywhere!
I have been spinning, but I guess you knew that.  This is some Shetland wool.  I am getting finer and finer yarn now…I do love spinning, so therapeutic.  I even dyed some fibre yesterday, I’ll be having a sheep in the back garden next!
This is our landing.  The blind is a bit ruined, did you notice?  It also takes us quite a while to get the blind to stay down, it keeps wanting to roll up, cartoon style!  It is rotten anyway, every time we pull it down it rips a bit more, so…….
I chose some material, some lining and some interlining
and then I found some toning pompoms
which altogether turned into this curtain.  I just need to do the heading and then it can be hung.  I am hoping that it will stop some more of the draughts, it is certainly a heavy curtain.
I do love homemaking!  I don’t like housework but I love a tidy home!

Oh and how rude of me not to say thank you for all the positive comments on my photography article, I really enjoyed writing it!
About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Excluding Draughts

  1. Faerynuff says:

    Ooh, I wish you lived next door! I want to see all this loveliness in real life!Only 26 days to go….

  2. CG says:

    I love these glimpses into your home and your article is excellent. I have bought draught excluders too but not as fun as yours!

  3. maria says:

    I know what you mean about liking home making but not housework!The alpines look cute.maria x

  4. Marianne says:

    I wish the ‘homemaking’ bug would give me a good bite :^)Yay for new shelves built by Barry!Your spinning is gorgeous and I can’t wait to see the new curtain hung, the fabric is seriously lovely.

  5. Lin says:

    I love draught excluders, such practical things. I want a suasage dog one! Your blind is going to be great.

  6. Faerynuff says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BARRY!!!21 AGAIN?Lots of love, Ali, Jez, Millie, Maddie and Sullivan xxx

  7. Nora says:

    Love that first photo of Barry! 🙂

  8. razmabaz says:

    Thanks Ali….. it’s only about 2.5 times I’ve been 21 xx :p

Leave a Reply

