Summer Whisper

What can I say!! Over on Ravelry, in the Posh Yarn Forum they are holding a laceweight cardigan KAL. I dyed myself some merino silk yarn in this delicious aqua colourway and just couldn’t wait to get started.
This is the Whisper Cardigan in the Spring issue of Interweave Knits
I had a bit of trouble with knitting the sleeves in the round, first of all I don’t do 4 needles and using a 12 inch circular needle really stretched the knitting too much for my liking, so I opted for my favourite method of the magic loop. I found that my addi lace circulars were too sticky at the joints for this fine 2ply laceweight yarn so I changed to my absolute favourites needles, harmonies and I was off! I found that if I held the cord and the needle together the stitches slipped over the join more easily, I soon got into a rhythm. I did get a slight problem with laddering but not enough to spoil my experience. I delightful knit all in all and I feel sad that I have finished it. I made the body 10 inches long instead of 8 inches that the pattern says. A bit more flattring for me I reckon.

I used about 95g of yarn for the whole cardigan, a real bargain for something so wearable!

Thank you to my photographer for taking these lovely photos! I think you need to update your blog honey…

The yarn is the same base yarn that Dee at Posh Yarn used for her Diana yarn, so I feel well and truly posh in it! Shame it’s too warm to wear it at the moment ha ha, no doubt that will change soon.
I hope to be having a Summer Affair with this soon…but Spinning for Tour de Fleece is going to be using up my time for a while, and it will good to use up some of my ever growing fibre stash!
About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Summer Whisper

  1. Justine says:

    Oh, that's gorgeous! Really, really beautiful! You look absolutely stunning in it. And under 100g!!! I'm amazed!

  2. Thimbleanna says:

    Ack! You're SO cute! It's adorable. I love it paired with that shirt too — just perfect!

  3. RooKnits says:

    Beautiful. It really suits you – the shape and colour are just perfect.

  4. Alison says:

    This is so soft-looking and a gorgeosu colour – it suits you! Beautiful work.Alison

  5. jolicious says:

    I love it – the style and colour!

  6. razmabaz says:

    Wow – you look delicious! I've done it. Updated my blog that is… I really should do it more often.

  7. Julie says:

    What a lovely little sweater! You look beautiful in it.

  8. peri says:

    That looks fab.I love the pattern for the summer affair – gorgeous.

  9. Linda says:

    I love this. The colour is perfect on you.

  10. twigletqueen says:

    I love love love that pattern! Very nearly cast on for it last month but I didn't get guage in the yarn I had. Ah well,some other time. Your version isvery pretty, love the summery colour

  11. Vicki says:

    Wow, that's really lovely, and it looks fantastic on you. Gorgeous color!

  12. tiennie says:

    Looks fantastic on you!

  13. Pixie says:

    Wow that is gorgeous and you make a great model 🙂 love the colour and magic loop is the only way to go for knitting in a round.. in my mind anyways 😉 and harmonies are the best for the job.Happy spinning for the Tour de Fleece xxx

  14. Kyoko says:

    Oh it's absolutely gorgeous! And you have dyed it yourself too. How amazing!!! :DBeautiful pattern. It's so fine, it must have taken a while to knit. Magic loop method is the best1!:D

  15. Michaela says:

    OMG woman, you have lost so much weight. Stop now before you fade away! Loving the cardi.x

  16. KSee says:

    You look great. The cardi too.

  17. Felicia says:

    Looks fantastic 🙂

  18. TutleyMutley says:

    I've been dithering about this cardigan since I first saw it in IK – it looks gorgeous on you! lovely lovely lovely.

Leave a Reply

