Spiced Autumn Soup

OK so it’s not Autumn but this recipe seems to please everyone’s taste buds!

It’s a recipe from Mary Berry’s Complete Cook Book which I think has now been reprinted as there is a different looking book which has the same name..

I made this soup today, Barry has made it 2 or 3 times and I have enjoyed it each time.  Today I had some new friends visit me.  Angela the Mum and her three delightful children. I had trouble with the little girl’s name.  Still I can’t quite remember it, hope Angela reads this and leaves me a comment to tell me of their lovely names?  Angela has only been in the UK for about 3 months and already she is driving around in her left hand drive car and finding her way to places, without the use of a Satnav! Good old Google maps!

Angela asked for some help with her spinning, her lads brought in all the paraphernalia needed to get spinning and I did my best to help her.  I hope to drive to their house soon to maybe help a bit more.  Another baby is due in about 4 weeks time, 4 children!! Sounds alarming but hey, I had 4 children too!!

Anyway, this recipe, I have tried to search for it but can’t find it anywhere so thought I would write it down for you:

Spiced Autumn Soup

serves 8

60g (2oz) butter

2 large onions , 2 potatoes,2 carrots, all coarsely chopped

3 garlic cloves, crushed

pared zest (use a potato peeler) and juice of 1 orange

2 tsp mild curry powder

1.8 litres (3 pints) chicken or vegetable stock

2 x 400g (13oz)  cans chopped tomatoes

2 desert apples, peeled and chopped

1 tsp dried basil

salt & pepper

  1. Melt the butter and add the onions, potatoes, carrots, garlic and orange zest, cook gently for about 5 mins, stirring now and then
  2. Add the curry powder and cook, stirring constantly for 2 mins
  3. Add the stock, orange juice, tomatoes (I added a desert spoon of sugar with the tinned tomatoes), apples, basil (I used mixed herbs), salt & pepper to taste. Bring to the boil, cover and simmer for about 30 mins until the veg is tender. Discard the orange zest (oops I didn’t! lol)
  4. Puree the soup (I use a hand held blender stick thingy)

We had this with some home made bread and butter but Mary tells us to make some herb croutons, might try that next time Smile

~*~

 

BAZ_2521BAZ_2526
I have done a little test knitting for Josefina Knits, it is called the Algodones hat…and was a beautifully written pattern which was a joy to knit

BAZ_2502BAZ_2490

2 more photos from Saturday night, the roast photo was taken by Barry xx

BAZ_2507.NEFBAZ_2508.NEF

BAZ_2504-1

This little poppet came to visit us on Sunday She is modelling the Whirligig Cardigan that I made for her.  I just love the parsnip in the onion bag in the last photo!! Makes me smile for some reason!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in cooking, knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spiced Autumn Soup

  1. Cindy says:

    Beautiful little girl! The sweater is very sweet on her.. Once pointed out the parsnip bag makes me smile too…. The hat looks like beautiful work!!!

  2. purplume says:

    Everything looks so excellent. Love the knitted items. Impressive.

  3. hakucho says:

    That soup sounds delicious 🙂 Great hat!

  4. purplume says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog. Shortly after I posted I discovered the publisher is listed on the web site Predators B or C. xd

  5. Annette says:

    Had MB’s soup at a friend’s. Looked for recipe online and found your delightful blog. Thank you so much. A total joyon a winter’s evening x

Leave a Reply

