Kindle Cover and Lemon Meringue Cake

MAZ_2368MAZ_2369

I don’t know why, maybe it’s the cold weather, the season or something…but I have had a real need to do some baking.  Can you believe that Barry and I have eaten the whole cake between ourselves?! It took us just 3 days to consume it, oh Nigella you know how to make a good cake!! I also made the lemon curd that is ooozing out from the sponge/meringue layers.  This cake is one that ticks all the boxes of a great cake, definitely be making this one again!

Today I made some of Delia’s Cheese Crusted Scones as my friend Heather came to visit, I couldn’t find the recipe by googling so I am writing it down here, they are soooo delicious:

scones

phone picture so sorry about the quality…

Switch the oven on at 200 degrees for a fan oven 220 if it’s not a fan oven

With your fingertips rub

25g butter

into

175g SR Flour (sifted)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon mustard powder

mix in 75g grated mature cheddar cheese

and then beat together

1 egg with about 3 tablespoons of milk

and add not quite all of the eggy milk mixture (you need a bit to brush the top of the scones with) to the dry ingredients and mix with a round ended knife til it goes into big lumps. if it needs a bit more liquid add a drop more milk

Lightly squidge the lumps together, don’t over work scone dough or they’ll not rise!

On a floured surface, pat out the dough to about 3cms deep and cut out 6 scones using a 5cm cutter, you might need to re-pat out the dough after cutting out the first 3 or 4 scones. There is usually a little bit left from the last cutting out so roll this into a ball and flatten it a bit (cook’s perks!)

Brush the tops with the remaining eggy milk and sprinkle on a bit more grated cheese and a pinch of cayenne pepper

Bake for 15-20 mins, check them after 15 mins

Eat them warm with butter…ohhh baby, I like the cheesy crusty tops the best so I eat the bottom half first! Winking smile

MAZ_2371MAZ_2374MAZ_2378

I have been trying out a new design for a smallish project bag..I learnt a lot whilst making this, so shortly after finishing this one I made another, not so deep, with a loop for the button and a big loop for a handle. Whilst making the second one I had another thought or two but will have to give that one a try out another day. 

then I made one of these…

MAZ_2382

it’s a cover for one of these

MAZ_2384

and I love it apart from one small problem..

it is meant to stand up but

MAZ_2387

I thought I’d be clever and use some plastic mesh which I use as a base for my sewn handbags.  Doh! It is too bendy, I should have used the hardboard as the girls’ suggested in the pattern. I will have another go at this once I’ve got something more substantial to support my Kindle with. I love it to bits though and am happier now that I have my precious new toy protected.

This is a design by Chica and Jo and I’ve been given permission to sell covers that I make using their pattern! I intend to add a pocket to mine so that the usb cable can be included and maybe a cloth to keep the screen clean.

I love the way the pocket for the Kindle sits proud of the cover, I learned a new skill as I made this cover and that pleases me immensely!!

MAZ_2391

back to the drawing board…what a chore!!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in cooking, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kindle Cover and Lemon Meringue Cake

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Kindle Cover and Lemon Meringue Cake | Picperfic's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. hakucho says:

    That cake certainly looks delicious 🙂

  3. Pixie says:

    Oh this is a real drool post!

    How delicious does that cake look .. yum yum. .. sorry have to skip the scones can’t do cooked cheese 😉

    Love the project bag.. just my kind of fabric.. love florals and pink.. oh my and as for the kindle cover.. I am working on getting my boys to buy me a kindle.. so I will want a Marianne cover to go with it for sure!

    Have fun at the drawing board 😀

    • picperfic says:

      thanks Denise…I am so eager to get the Kindle cover perfect and have ordered some firm board so the next one will stand up beautifully! I’ll keep you posted! How can you not like cooked cheese, I eat the crispy bits first!

  4. Pixie says:

    Yeah to keeping me posted on the Kindle covers .. and as for cooked cheese, the smell really turns my tummy into knots and makes me feel very ill as for trying to eat it.. that is a no go.. did you watch Toast over Christmas? the Nigel Slater story.. think milk when the teacher made him drink it!.. not nice lol

  5. purplume says:

    Beautiful things you made and baked. You do beautiful work. I want a kindle. I never thought to make a cover, good idea, then I can have a few for different moods. XD

  6. I have no doubt the finished Kindle cover product will be well-worth the effort (loving that!) Just like your delicious baking! That looks sooo good. Maybe, that is what I am missing a nice baked good to consume.

  7. Fiberjoy says:

    Scrumptious post, everything is so artfully made. You are amazing.

  8. Pingback: Kindle Cover with a Pocket | Picperfic's Blog

  9. Pingback: Kindle Cover with a Pocket | Picperfic's Blog

Leave a Reply

