Kindle Cover–a giveaway ~ Comments now closed!

I have now made quite a few Kindle covers, let’s just say that Barry and I have one each and then I made three more, the third one being the best in my opinion as I have left a gap where you can flick the switch on and off so there is no need to take it out of the cover anymore.  That really bugs me, so then, if I’m reading a knitting pattern I take a while to get to the end of a row, go to turn the page and the Kindle has switched itself off. I then have to take it out of the cover to restart it, not any more!!

MAZ_2387

remember the bendy cover? Barry now has that one…

MAZ_2484

this is mine, with the restraining elastic and the pocket for wires…

then I made this one, with a gap for the flicking of the switch

MAZ_2605

I thought I was being really clever making that gap but unfortunately it caused the kindle to lean slightly, can you see it leaning in the picture?

so then I made another one, an order this time..

MAZ_2597MAZ_2595MAZ_2591MAZ_2589

see that gap in the holding pocket in the photo above? Well I thought I’d got it sussed but it still didn’t hold the Kindle quite as straight as I would have liked so then I made another one…

MAZ_2588MAZ_2586MAZ_2585MAZ_2584MAZ_2583MAZ_2582

notice in the first photo that the gap is now right over the sliding in/off switch, both corners of that holding pocket are stitched down so the Kindle now stays level! Hoo-blimmin-ray!!

That last one is a sort of order, if the colours aren’t right for my customer I will list it in my shop.

Now my problem was with the green/orange Kindle cover….

I couldn’t sell it in my shop as it has a defect, the leaning Kindle!!

So I have decided to hold a giveaway for this gorgeous but slightly defective Kindle 3 Cover!

MAZ_2606MAZ_2605MAZ_2603MAZ_2602MAZ_2601MAZ_2598

All you have to do is leave me a comment to this post, telling me why you would like a slightly leany over Kindle3 Cover! I will draw a name at random from the comments in a few days time, probably a week…depends how busy I am haha

This giveaway is for the cover only, not the contents, I’m sorry the Kindle is not included.  I just love my Kindle and as soon as my new supply of board arrives I shall be making myself a new cover with a little gap in the supporting pocket! I can’t have a cover without a gap in it now can I??

Looking forward to hearing from you xx

 

ETA: This giveaway is now finished…but if you’d like me to make you a kindle cover then do please get in touch or visit my shop ~ Marianne 🙂

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in giveaway, sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Kindle Cover–a giveaway ~ Comments now closed!

  1. Annie says:

    I would love a leaning over kindle cover because that is how I normally hold mine, on the quirk a bit, so maybe having a cover that quirks the other way will make everything look straight, if you see what I mean. My Kindle is in too much danger from assorted assistants, partners, cats, other animals from next door including a beautiful long haired rabbit I am going to steal and shave one day this summer!!!

  2. Wanda J says:

    Sadly I have no Kindle. I have a friend with a Kindle. She loves her Kindle, takes it everywhere. It needs a super cool, very unique cover. It’d fit right in as pictures in her house usually hang out of plumb. 🙂

  3. Janine says:

    I would like the fun kindle cover for reading in the bath, I’m scared to death that I’m going to drop it in the water……but if I had the fabulous cover it could sit on the side of the tub while I will still had a hand free to eat chocs 😀 Perfect….defiantly a very much needed item for a tired and stressed mum of four come the end of the day!

    • picperfic says:

      I have only read my Kindle in the bath once, I am absolutely petrified of dropping it in the water!

      • Janine says:

        I do have a nice corner bath which has a space perfect for the kindle to sit on safely 🙂 but I don’t have a cover that holds the book upright so I can read it. I have tried with it lying on the edge of the bath but still scary and not easy to read at all.

  4. Lyndsey-Jane Copeman says:

    I would like a slightly leaning kindle cover because it is pretty 🙂

  5. My friend at work has a Kindle but fell out of love with it this week – something to do with an update and it losing all her locations (as a non-Kindle person this means little to me, but I was sad to see her so annoyed with something she had been so excited about). I’m sure a beautiful Kindle stand would cheer her up and maybe bring them closer together? Or she could stand it up and shout at it if it kept misbehaving?

  6. Kristina says:

    I would like the leaning kindle cover, because like me there is nothing normal about it! Also end of March sees the my first book released in e-book format! http://ethicstrading.com/index.php?page=kristina-jackson So another there is another reason to have one 🙂 For a third, I love you work!

  7. Jules Wallace says:

    Well Marianne – I am hoping to get Kindle for my birthday in 2 weeks time ( having resisted ‘cos I am a printers daughter but now I want clean hands) and it would be just the ticket for a quirky cover to be its new best friend. Kindle’s new friend will be well travelled and cherished as they will be off exploring on the high seas for 3 weeks very soon. With bright blue skies and sunshine our quirkly friend will be the talk of the ship and will be dressed correctly for tropical night.
    Seriously though – your determination to get the product right for your customers is a credit to you and should be applauded.

  8. Yogicknitter says:

    Need you to make ones for Ipads next marianne! 🙂 Lovely to see you yesterday by the way. Those Kindle covers look gorgeous, as does everything you turn your hand to. Such a talented lady. xx

  9. Ewan says:

    I love the kindle cover you made for me. Now own up was you or Barry that parcelled it up in pink paper and heart covered ribbon . If it was Barry I am getting a bit worried.

    Ewan

  10. LunaG says:

    What an ingenious idea! Have not gotten a cover; or made one, yet, as I haven’t found a Kindle cover that addresses all of the features I want; until now. This is the Kindle prop/pillow, that you can pack into your knitting bag. Love it!

  11. Leni says:

    I’m not too fussed with the so-called defects to be honest – I think it’s pretty, and it’s still functional. It still does what it’s meant to do, right? It’s a stand-up-Kindle cover. So that with my brand new Kindle that Gavin got us (me) for our anniversary, and the cookbooks I am going to get, I can use the Kindle in the kitchen, sat on the counter next to me being my assistant – like a good sous chef should. Not that having a real sous chef sitting on your counter is necessarily a great idea, as he/she would take up a lot of room, and more than likely get in the way… (unless he is very, very good looking… then he could possibly stay…)

  12. Sally says:

    Fabbbbbbbbbbbulous!!! As ever it is something beautiful 🙂
    Would look so nice around my kindle in my new house xxx

  13. Linda Rose Stewart says:

    ahem~~~ I have so much in my life that is right…I am happy and contented.. quite well except for the few parts of me that are going North or South depending on where you are at the time… I did not have a lot growing up..we never in our house kept up with trends…my Mother said “we are not sheep ..we do not follow the crowds!” and God bless my Mother ..as now at almost 62 years of age…I am having the time of my life following the trends~~and appreciating it more then I ever would have as a youth…so in a “big” nutshell ..I want that Kindle Cover!! I bow under adult peer pressure and love ever trend that happens by!! and OH I LOVE MY KINDLE!! and my kindle would love your cover as I sleep in an unheated upstairs room!! and that is the story of me and my kindle..with love Linda R. Stewart<3

  14. clare collier says:

    Ooo pretty gadget holding, leaning lovelyness. Whats not to love. And who wants perfection in life, a quirk here or there is what gives us ‘personality’ in our every day.
    My mum wants a kindle for her birthday, and i know my dad can get her this. So it would be lovely to be able to give my mum something beautiful to go with it, and the dress that i am making for her. And do i have time to make a dress and a kindle cuddle case, nope.Just too many projects and so little time. That and a new business to launch, which may mean even the dress gets delayed….

    • picperfic says:

      Oh I get so frustrated with not having enough hours to complete all that I imagine I can achieve in a day…I need to take some time off to sew myself a dress or two, I have everything I need to make them, apart from the time x

      • Linda Rose Stewart says:

        oh clare collier: have to say your first sentence of why you want a Kindle cover is definetely “lovely”…

  15. Annie Currier says:

    I don’t have a Kindle……yet. I am thinking of buying one and noticed that the covers can be pretty pricey. I would love to have one of your beautiful handmade ones!

    • picperfic says:

      hey Annie…I hope I didn’t confuse you, I didn’t realise I had 2 Annie’s leaving a comment. I’ll be in touch…

      • Annie says:

        Hi Marianne

        Have just looked at a close up of Barry’s picture showing the entry and it is mine, Annie Wells, spinner extrordinaire who came over last week.
        Sorry I didn’t mean to confuse you either. Sorry abou that
        Cheers

        Annie xx Thetford

      • picperfic says:

        I knew it was you that had won….I just must have given the other Annie a disappointment 😦

    • Annie says:

      Hi Annie Currier
      I am so sorry that there was a mix up with the Annies, I just hope that you are not too disappointed that it isn’t you. Regards
      Annie Wells

  16. Pixie says:

    Well as you know I am waiting for a Kindle and counting down the days till Mothers Day, so to have a cover ready for it.. would be brill and they wouldn’t be able to back out.. would they? lol

  17. knittynutter/ angie says:

    I would like a kindle cover as I dont have a kindle and would really like one. I can then place said empty wonky kindle case in a prime location in the hope that DH & DS’s take a very big hint for mothers day and buy a kindle to fill the wonky empty kindle case !!
    ps, it would also be great to use with anticipated new kindle when spinning my gorgeous fluff from the fluff club !!

Leave a Reply

