Show and Tell…

I have been busy! Phew…I am still busy but I like it that way Smile

I was asked to do a custom order for a Double Interchangeable Needle Organiser using some gorgeous gorgeous William Morris inspired fabric…I have bought lots of this cotton craft fabric as I love it so much!

big bobble clutch and needle orgaiser charlie

and also a Bigger Big Bobble Clutch bag which is to be used as a posh project bag..

big bobble clutch and needle orgaiser charlie1

I ‘fussy cut’ the fabric as my client imagined the bag would look good with the 2 birds central to the clutch. I matched that fabric twice so it would look the same on the back and the front, and also the 2 ends were placed with care…

I am particularly proud of the join on the base of the bag

MAZ_2726

I’m waiting to hear whether it has been delivered or not…

In the meantime I have been doing a bit of spinning

maudrigal polwarth fibre

I bought myself a kit to make myself a Maudrigal Scarf using this beautifully dyed Polwarth fibre, all the way from New Zealand

Maudrigal Polwarth

I am so delighted with how this has turned out, I don’t usually go for barber pole yarn but this whole design just clicked for me.

The yarn was fractally spun, one half on one bobbin and the other half was split again and that 1/4 was spun on the other bobbin, followed by the last 1/4 which was split in two again. The resulting singles were then plied together, soaked, squeezed and snapped

Gorgeous to spin and a delicious bouncy DK yarn when dry!

MAZ_2728MAZ_2730

and of course I couldn’t wait to start knitting

MAZ_2732MAZ_2734

such a pretty beaded cast on and I love how the colours have separated when knitting the lace entrelac blocks…oh how I want to knit the next row and the next to see what the colours decide to do..

Before I started on the Maudrigal project, I was knitting an Atalanta sideways Scarf using a skein of my precious Wollemeise yarn..

MAZ_2629

MAZ_2645

isn’t it gorgeous? the edging takes a little while to get into but now I just love doing it, I loikes a bit of a fiddle with me knitting you know..

Anyway, I trod on and broke one of my needle tips so it has been put on hold, just until I find the time to screw on the new tip which came yesterday Smile

Then of course there is the news about my new luxury fibre club, seems like everyone is really pleased with their parcels but I’ll tell you about that another time because I daren’t show you my photos until I’m sure that everyone has received them..

MAZ_2664

TTFN!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in fluff-n-stuff, knitting, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Show and Tell…

  1. I do love the double needle end holder..it looks fab. I shall bear it in mind and think about a fabric too if that’s ok.
    Love the William Morris look on the clutch bag. Yes, the base is lovely. It’s such a good match!

  2. Pixie says:

    Oh what a gorgeous show and tell..

    Love the fabric and resulting items.. rather scrummy!

    Your spun yarn beautiful and looking forward to further photos and oolala at your lace.. I lurves a fiddle too 😉

    Can’t wait to see photos of your fibre club, although I couldn’t join .. I can drool lol

  3. Cindy says:

    Gorgeous! Thank you for your show and tell!! Your bag is absolutly beautiful!!! and the spun yarn…. and .. and… You have beautiful works!!!

  4. Åsa Tricosa says:

    Enough, I say! 😉
    You’re putting the rest of us to shame. Sewing perfectly-joined (it is a fabulous join) project bags in gorgeous fabrics (it is a gorgeous fabric), spinning magic yarns from a hank, braid or whatever the thing-that-is-not-yet-yarn is called — I can’t even soak, squeeze and snap (snap??!)…. well, maybe soak and squeeze –, and knitting beautiful shawls.
    Beautiful photos, too.
    (Sorry about your snapped needle. I do love that you’re making such a lovely Atalanta.)

    p.s. I think I need one of those clutch bags in my life.

    • picperfic says:

      such a happy comment…you just have to give me the nod and I’ll make you a perfectly joined Bigger Big Bobble Clutch bag! I call unspun fibre like that a bump of fibre but I think in reality a bump of fibre is a massive amount!

Leave a Reply

