A Wonderful Weekend

Last Friday Barry and I travelled to Scald End Farm in Thurleigh Bedfordshire to set up my stall for Fibre-East

We enjoyed a lovely drive through countryside to find the farm, and following directions on our satnav we arrived in good time. The farm is in a wonderful setting and immediately we felt the happy atmosphere. We were directed to the marquee which housed our pitch. From the moment I was asked if I’d like to participate in Fibre-East, I just knew it was going to be well organised and I wasn’t wrong. Not once did I have to ask questions, every step of the way, I was kept informed of requirements. I felt safe and happy Smile

On the Saturday morning, my first customer arrived and she was like a breath of fresh air, so encouraging and enthusiastic about my fibre, I think Joanna will be helping me next year, she does a good sales pitch! At lunchtime, after a hectic morning, we left the stand in the capable hands of Sam. I was only called back once. Thank you Sam, you did a wonderful job.

On Sunday my lovely friend and helper Annie turned up and it was great to meet John, of whom she often talks fondly. Then, Patricia and George arrived!! Oh it was so lovely to meet them both, Patricia and I have only chatted on Ravelry or Facebook before but I knew we’d get on well. We chatted and chatted and chatted and……

One thing that amused me was Barry shining his torch on the Twinkle fibre to show the sparkles as they didn’t show up under the light of the marquee, thank you Barry xx

So many of the lovely people I chat to on Facebook and Ravelry stopped by either to chat or buy something. I never stopped smiling all weekend. I am still on a high from it all.

It was great to hello to Jacqui too, she was also selling her wares there. I had a lovely conversation with her son , he is studying maths at Cambridge!! Nightmare in my opinion but wow, what a clever lad!

I have since listed the few bags I had left over and have photographed and listed about half of the fibre we brought back with us. I think we must have sold about 2/3rds of the top we took with us. No wonder I was exhausted, I had been dyeing my heart out, perhaps there is another meaning to the words I use when describing my dyeing technique as ‘fully exhausted’ ha-ha

I will be photographing and adding the rest of the fibre sometime during the week. If you haven’t already done so, perhaps you’d go and ‘like’ my Facebook Page, you will then be one of the first to know of the shop updates. another place you can find out is by joining my Ravelry Group or even following me on Twitter

I will leave you with a photo of me, Barry and the stall taken by Tracy from Purl Alpacas as I was wearing my Duchess Cardigan I knitted from one of their kits and now I am eager to knit one of these but I’ll have to save up some pennies….

If you’re stuck for something do on Bank Holiday Monday, why not spend the day at Houghton Hall Alpaca Farm? I have shamelessly copied the info from the Purl alpacas blog

OPEN DAY – COME AND MEET THE ALPACAS

We invite you to join us for our first event of this kind!

AT THE AWARD WINNING HOUGHTON HALL ALPACA FARM

A FIELD TO FASHION EXPERIENCE

on

29th August 2011 (Bank Holiday Monday)

10.00 a.m. until 4.00 p.m.

I’ll be spinning there along with a few others and I’ll also have my shop with me, that’s if I’ve anything left!! I am hoping to sew a few more bags, double interchangeable needle organisers and dye up a bit more fibre but having heard on Wednesday that everything is on go for the house purchase, I’m not at all sure I’ll have any spare time!!

At last…..are you still with me? Here’s the photo, such a happy weekend!!

Marianne wearing Duchess copy

 

hope you’re all having a good weekend too!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

