Heyyyy

Happy new year to you!!

Where does the time go?

I’ve been mega busy with my shop , I had a little sale, did you miss it? I couldn’t believe the response, thank you for your support Smile

Right now, I am doing my tax return, eugh, I hate doing it, but if I don’t get it done by the end of this month then I will be fined £100 by the Inland Revenue. I will do it, just waiting on one piece of information to arrive by post, it is nail biting waiting for it to come!! I knew I needed this information months ago, so why didn’t I request it sooner? Call me

In between worrying about getting my tax return done I have been crafting, I just have to, I’d go bonkers if I didn’t create something most days

I made Ali, my eldest a Flutterby,

MAZ_7429 copy

that’s me modelling it.  I wanted photos for my Ravelry projects page and as Ali lives about 150 miles away I thought I would see if it looked ok on me. I loved how it felt, so comfortable to wear, and nice and warm where you need it. Ali loves it too, she has asked if I could make a lighter weight one for when she has the baby as it would be a good cover-all for when she’s breastfeeding.  I think I need to get my knitting machine dusted off for it though, I’m sort of stocking stitched out ! Ali’s fourth baby is due in April, so exciting!! I love making little tiny cute things, such quick results and lots of smiles when they’re finished Open-mouthed smile

One of my Christmas presents came in a very pretty tiny little bag with an interesting closure.  This bag fascinated me and made me start thinking about how I could use a similar closure on a small project bag, my first attempt is in the hands of my lovely friend Annie, she is road testing it for me. I showed the second one off at spinning guild on Saturday and it was well received and seeing Heather playing with the closure made me think about how to add a handle. my mind is buzzing with ideas Thinking smile

I also made myself a larger project bag to contain all I needed to make a Manu cardigan. The cardigan called for 8 balls of yarn, 400g. I must admit the bag I was calling the Jumper Dumper struggled to contain that much yarn. I realised it wanted to be a medium sized bag for 300g maximum and that I needed to make an even bigger project bag for up to 800g of yarn. Watch this space…

This is the original jumper dumper, it’s a lovely size, but more for a child’s jumper or cardigan, or a blanket which is growing in size

It measures about 30cm deep and 30cm wide and the handle is long enough to go over your shoulder

MAZ_7164-1MAZ_7166-1MAZ_7168-1

it has an inner and an outer pocket, the latter is buttoned, the bag also has a metal clip for attaching essentials like car keys!!

I need to take some photos of the new bag to show you, I love it’s simplicity

I have also been doing some of this

MAZ_7419 copy

Spun on my Rose using some of my own hand dyed Twinkle fibre. A real joy to spin and I truly thought i was aiming for a sport weight but as usual my spinning defaulted to an Aran weight.  This was N-plied to preserve the lovely colour changes.

I have made a new Kindle cover too, an order from Rob, for his wife Lyndsey (previous neighbours of ours). She loved it Smile Rob asked me to make him one too, he chose the fabric as they stayed over on new year’s Eve. We did a deal, he bought us some tickets for the pantomime that he was producing/writing and I made the cover. I love working like that, no money, just love exchanging hands. The panto was excellent, I have to add and Lyndsey was a wonderful Lady Marian, singing her heart out on occasions, that takes some nerve!!

MAZ_7290 copyMAZ_7291 copyMAZ_7292 copyMAZ_7296 copy

MAZ_7375 copyMAZ_7379 copy

 

I love the simplicity of this design and will be making one to fit my old style Kindle. I prefer it to the other cover I had been making. It uses less fabric, is so much easier to make and takes far less time to construct, we’re all winners!! Love how you can get at the doings without having to take it out of the cover too. There are some pockets included on the front flap.

Now, just to finish with a cute photo….these two came to visit us on Boxing day, we had a great time. I have to say that I had been dreading Christmas but it wasn’t so bad. We walked to the pub on Christmas day and Barry managed to be in the perfect spot on the pavement to get splashed by a passing car going over the only puddle along the road. Hilarious!! He wasn’t so happy though, don’t know why…..

MAZ_7364 copy

I made a load of these hats too ^^^

MAZ_7344 copy

Right, back to work I suppose….

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2012, christmas, fluff-n-stuff, grandchildren, knitting, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heyyyy

  1. Linda Rose Stewart says:

    Hello Marianne.. I sometimes forget your schedule is hectic!! you are into so many things..and do them all so well…Loved reading your site.

  2. Annie says:

    Oh I just love your bags Marianne, one of these days I’ll treat myself . Lovely spinning too 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    I must not have been visiting your blog enough recently. I’m looking at your lovely pink “Flutterby” and trying to figure out if the sleeves are attached and if so, how. What a neat idea to create a Kindle cover. I don’t own one, but I’ve been thinking I need to make a cover or buy one for my crackberry as it is black and I’m forever visually losing it in my purse or on a table. As always, it’s a pleasure to see what you’re up to lately. Happy February from Virginia! : )

    • lifebeginsat50 says:

      Thank you! The sleeves are attached but just at the top 10cm of the sleeve to the side seam of the cape part. My daughter loves it 🙂

      I have a kindle and love it to bits, I gave my cover to my Mum so I need to make myself a new one

      Happy February to you too, from a dull and very cold Cambridgeshire!

Leave a Reply

