Ruffle Butt

I have had the pattern for about a year now…it just made me squee every time I came across it when I was looking for something else. The photo on the front of the pattern is so adorable, I’m not sure if I want the baby or the romper suit!

Luckily my eldest has a 4 week old baby girl so I made this with a purpose.  The sunshine even came out today so I am hoping it will be warm enough for the baby to wear it. I made the 3-6 months size, Esme is growing like wildfire….Red heart

Anyway, here’s my finished article

MAZ_9092 copyMAZ_9093 copyMAZ_9096 copy

I just love this little suit so much, just wish I lived nearer to Ali so that I could photograph Esme wearing it.  I’m waiting for a new popper gun to be delivered, the rubber on mine had perished, I was due a new one to tell you the truth, I don’t know how many years I had the old one. As soon as I’ve put the poppers on I’ll send it

I have been getting to know my overlocker, bought for me by my husband a couple of years ago at least.. It was sadly neglected as I was never in the right frame of mind to learn to use it properly. Sewing with jersey fabric encouraged me to have another go, and it was already threaded up with the correct colour so I didn’t need to learn how to rethread it too soon. I have to admit to just sewing overlocked edges on lots of waste fabric. It is quite addictive.  I used the rolled hem function on the ruffles, it creates the most perfect edge.  I totally enjoyed making this, I am hoping to find the time to make some for my shop, actually, I might need a new shop in which to sell baby clothes…hmm dare I?

I have made another decision, I’m good at those lol!! I am going to do sewing or crafting for myself at weekends instead of making things for the shop. I don’t feel like I ever have any time off!  I have a rather large stash of patterns and fabric all waiting to be made into clothes for me and my family. This said stash makes me tense up every time I see it. I want to get the pile down so I am not going to buy more dress lengths of fabric until I have at least used up 3 of the pieces that taunt me every time I look at them.

I’m very good at working for my shop all week. I start about 9.30am and work through until about 4.30pm when I go and cook our evening meal. Tuesday mornings is my food shopping day, and so sometimes I make other appointments for myself on a Tuesday but usually I am working that afternoon.  I do feel very privileged to be able to pick and choose my working hours but I pride myself on how disciplined I actually am. Well, I am living the dream…..I love my job!

I have also been working on a new Spinner’s Lap Quilt and I hope to have the designer as a guest blogger sometime soon!

I’ll leave you with a photo of it, it’s a thing of beauty and a pleasure to have sitting on your lap as you spin Winking smile

spinners lap quilt

MAZ_9034 copy

It’s waiting for a button…..

My lovely friend Heather is modelling it for me but what is most wonderful about that photo is that I wasn’t aware until I actually looked at it, but heather was wearing an apron that I’d made her for her birthday a couple of year’s ago and her Expandable Tote (purchased in 2009!!) and little zipped pocket were on show too! Go me! Oh and she’s spinning some of my Coast fibre, what a groupie! lol

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in grandchildren, sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ruffle Butt

  1. josiekitten says:

    I think you’re absolutely right to give yourself some ‘me’ time at the weekends, otherwise things might stop being such a pleasure. I love that lap quilt, I think I might need one!!

Leave a Reply

