In Stitches

View albumView albumView albumView albumView albumView album

Last night, whilst my husband was at band practice, I downloaded a tutorial to make myself a needle case. Something that I’ve never had in my possession, ever! When I saw the link on Pinterest, I just fell in love with the whole thing. Those 12 tiny little squares just cried out to me to get into my bag of scraps and put them together. So, at 10pm, when Barry got in I was still up in my workroom, fiddling and enjoying the whole process.

With the offer of a coffee I then left my work to go and watch the last episode of Silk, we love Martha, played by Maxine Peak, especially as she used to be in one of my favourite TV comedy series written by Victoria Wood, Dinner Ladies. She plays Twinkle in the series and after doing a search I came across this video…hasn’t Maxine changed!?! I love the transformation Smile

Twinkle is sat at the table reading a newspaper…

So where was I, oh yes, now it is today….

I know I should have been sewing for the shop but I just wanted to finish sewing this little case.  It was meant to have felt pages in it, but I didn’t have any felt so I sandwiched some iron on batting between two layers of fabric. trimming off about 1cm from the batting first, then I machine quilted it together using some of the pretty stitches on my machine. I then used my pinking shears to zigzag the edges. It worked well, although I see from the tutorial I should have added another layer of pages! Doh!

MAZ_9530 copy

Oh well, I love it anyway, especially as I got to use the pretty glass button that my special friend Andrea popped into one of the present packages she sends me….thank you Andrea xx

MAZ_9535 copy

S’pose I better go and do some work now…..oh look, it’s lunchtime!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In Stitches

  1. Annie Wells says:

    This is so beautiful Marianne, another little thing for the stall methinks. Gorgeous, just like you ! xx

  2. It’s beautiful!!! I just made my first-ever needle book, too, and I wonder how I ever lived without it! 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  3. That ninch! says:

    Fun! I made a strawberry pin cushion for a few pins and my needle that goes with me on the train, but I like this very much!
    Also, ‘Dinnerladies’ made me laugh very much—just what I needed today. 🙂 À bi!

    Hazle

  4. josiekitten says:

    That is so lovely, I’m sure plenty of people would like to see them in your shop!!

Leave a Reply

