From Start to Finish

Sewing a pattern from a PDF to finished article

I have been meaning to do a post like this for ages, right now I am test sewing a darling little dress for the amazing Tie Dye Diva, and it feels like the right time to do this. I am hoping to take photos as I go along.  This is going to be a perfect Sunday for me, especially as the rain is chucking it down at the moment….

24th June Sunday

I am still in my dressing gown, listening to Steve Wright’s Sunday Morning Love Songs. Barry has made me a coffee and I have sent the pattern to the printer. I have learnt to print the actual pattern pieces separately from the instructions. I like to print the instructions in a little A5 booklet format. I love printing on both sides of the paper when I can. Another thing to remember with PDF’s, is to save them to a folder on your computer. I have found that I cannot get the printer to do the sizing thing correctly if I simply click on a link to access a PDF.  I always ‘right click’ and ‘save as’.  I don’t know if it is the settings on my laptop but this works for me.  Oh, and remember to click the ‘actual size’ button on the printer settings too! The difference in sizes of our ‘A4’ and the American ‘Letter’ can create havoc when printing a sewing pattern.

Well, it’s now 1.25pm and I’ve not done any more to getting the pattern taped together.  Barry sowed some grass seed yesterday and today we were meant to put down some netting to keep the birds off. Nightmare…!!  Just a nightmare….especially as it tipped it down all night, which is great for the seeds but not for putting netting down. We’re not allowed to walk on it, all the mud and seeds stick to your shoes.  I’m afraid I stropped off and came in.

I started braiding the millions of lengths of fibre that I’ve been dyeing. I love doing that. All the while trying to think of an easy way to do the netting, don’t think there is an easy way to tell you the truth.  Think the best advice I found on the internet was to sow 3 times the seed you need so the birds can have a field day! 

Braiding the fibre was not an unnecessary task, I needed to clear the dining room table so I could lay out the pieces of A4 before taping them together.

Ho hum, it’s lunchtime now, maybe I‘ll brighten up a bit after some food….

So then I got distracted by Facebook, and I’ve been editing a couple of photos in this clever programme

miyah retro

and

retro daisies

so now I’m hankering after an android phone so I can use the app on it!

3pm ~ Barry has made me a coffee…and then I shall stick the pages together!!

So now it is Wednesday and I have at last edited the photos to add to this post regarding multi sized PDF sewing patterns

MAZ_9611 copyMAZ_9612 copy

After printing off the pieces, remembering to click the actual size option you can then check that the 1” square is measuring correctly. On this pattern, the designer also adds an asterisk on each piece, so after sticking the pages together measure between the 2 asterisks to make sure that measurement is the same too.

I then traced the pieces I needed onto some medium, sew-in interfacing.

MAZ_9613 copyMAZ_9614 copy

Remember to transfer all the markings!

I’ll take you through the cutting and sewing at a later date, the pattern I am using is a test design for Tie Dye Diva and I am sworn to secrecy until it is published…it is darling, that’s all I can tell you for now Winking smile

~*~

Oh and I’ve ordered myself a new android phone, Barry was very keen for me to have one, he says that if I don’t like it, I can swap with him….no I don’t think so somehow!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in fluff-n-stuff, garden, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

