do you smell the roses?

Yep, we’ve been trying to dig our way out of some of that smelly stuff for a few months now….

As you know, Barry and I took out a mortgage last September to buy this pretty little house. We were fed up of our money going nowhere in rent every month.  It was a struggle to say the least, to get a mortgage at our age, and in the current money climate. But we did and we both kept the thought of redundancy to ourselves, thinking it would never happen to us…but it did!

Barry knew in February that there would be redundancies at work, he didn’t know names until April, but, Barry being the wonderful man that he is, didn’t tell me until the Monday after my son’s wedding in May. He knew that day was going to be a tough one for me so he kept all the worrying info to himself until that woeful Monday morning.  The rug had well and truly been pulled from under our feet, it was the most horrid feeling that I have ever experienced, like the life drained out of me, I heard Barry say that everything was going to be OK, he was sure he’d get another job. I knew he was just saying this to placate me, people our age don’t get jobs, I read the news….

But….

cutting a long story short

Barry was sought out by a company based in Melbourne Australia. Last week, on Wednesday he went out there for an interview, he came back on Sunday, to say he was disorientated was a slight understatement Alien

And this morning, he sort of had confirmation from an email saying that the company was looking forward to meeting him again in Melbourne soon. 

Although the company is based in Australia, we won’t be emigrating, it is all to do with Telecommunications and Barry will be supporting customers in the UK & Europe

He has to go out for a few weeks training in August and I’m going with him I think! We’re hoping to be staying in an apartment or something, rather than a hotel, it would make life easier for us both…

I’ll keep you posted on that one

He is being made redundant on the 27th July….still makes me feel odd when I see that written down….but he will start work for the new company the second week of August

~Fibre-East~

3…..2…..1….back in the room!!!

I am swamped with beautiful fibre here…I’m pretty much ready, just need to add a few more items to my spread sheet, then I can really start to pile it all up ready to put into the car for the show this weekend

If twitter is anything to go by, the spinning, knitting, crafting community is getting as excited by the prospect of this weekend as I am!! I love meeting everybody at shows, never stop smiling and chatting, can’t wait!!

Here’s some photos to whet your appetite

DSC_0165-001DSC_0179-001DSC_0184-001DSC_0186-001 

I used Barry’s new camera to take these shots, don’t tell him will you? I love how easy it is to use, and the colours are so true, Nikon seem to have got their act together in the green/pink/red department at last!!

What day is it again??

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2012, fluff-n-stuff, new home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to do you smell the roses?

  1. Annie Wells says:

    Hello you 2. So pleased about the email. I am sooo happy for you both. Enjoy Aus won’t you but I for one shall miss you when you are gone! Looking forward to seeing you on Sunday at FE. xx

  2. Kai Mistry says:

    Aww babe *hugs* You were fab when I told you we were going through similar tidings here and I’ll never forget that. It sounds like everything is going to be OK, and I’m so glad that’s the case. If I can return the favour any time, just let me know. xxx

  3. Razmabaz says:

    We are coming back Annie!

  4. Oh blimey, just reading your post felt like a roller coaster ride! Poor Barry, keeping the news to himself for so long, he is a darling to do that for you. And a worrying time, albeit relatively short lived with the good news about Australia 🙂 I’m so pleased you won’t be emigrating as I stand a chance of meeting up with you again at one fibre fair or another 🙂 Hugs, Ewa x

  5. blueadt says:

    Fantastic news & Melbourne sounds VERY exciting!

    Beautiful colours too…

  6. Wanda J says:

    So glad to read that Barry so quickly scored a new job!!! What a nerve-wracking, stressful past two months for you. You’re both troopers, I suspect the two of you will always manage to land on your feet!

  7. Adee (kiwigirl42 on Rav) says:

    really glad that it is working out for you. I’ve just been fired (due to my migraines) so know the feeling well.

Leave a Reply

