A day out

Barry and I went out for the day on Saturday, he wanted to get a lens adapter for his new camera so we went to Norwich where the shop lived. He purchased his lens adapter and a speedlight. Foolishly, I showed him a lovely little camera bag that had caught my eye earlier, thinking that the price would shock him, but it didn’t. He didn’t purchase the bag then, but it kept gnawing at him until he ordered it online from the same place. Think it is in the bag on the floor now, waiting for him to come home from work and open it up.  I have intentions of checking out the sizing and construction and making myself a bag but using my pretty patchwork fabrics…watch this space!

Then we went into Norwich itself, first of all we parked here

DSC_0124

DSC_0126

well not there exactly, but these are the views from where we parked….the car park was decidedly scary, held up by scaffolding and supports. We didn’t stay there long, as we were walking away from the car we both felt more than a bit uncomfortable. We didn’t seem to be anywhere near the bit of Norwich that we recognised, so we went back to the car and moved it to a less scary car park which cost a lot more money to use!

We had lunch

DSC_0127

Then we decided to take our new cameras for a road trip and headed for a darling old Shopping Arcade. I got side tracked by the chocolate shop, yes I was poorly all night but it was worth it.

DSC_0171

I noticed there was a sign saying that there was a display of Royal photographs by Cecil Beaton in Norwich Castle. Could this be the same exhibition I had wanted to visit in the Victoria & Albert Museum back in February? It was!! We were a couple of days too early for the exhibition in  Feb so I was absolutely delighted to be able to view the photographs Smile 

We took a few photographs of the Castle and you can see mine here

I love this photo from the album

DSC_0167

don’t ask me what he’s got on his lap though, I dread to think!!

In the meantime, I have been knitting. The first photo is of the silk shawl I am knitting for Janine

facebook_-1513519020

I was rather worried that the yarn would be too slippery and splitty to enjoy working with but it is fine. It is Babylonglegs Perfection Lace and a gorgeous rich purple. I have memorised the pattern repeat so am enjoying this very much now

I also cast on for my Netherton Cardigan which is on the front cover of the first issue of this very lovely quarterly magazine. Shilasdair yarn is so gorgeous to work with, and the halo from the cashmere and angora is just perfect, oh and the yarn smells so good too! This is my easy knitting that I will do when in the car and when I’m watching a complicated programme like East Enders or something! Winking smile  I intend to make myself a dress with the fabric the yarn is sitting on..hah!

DSC_0103 copy

I have also finished Millie’s Mini Water’s Edge and can’t wait to see her wearing it

DSC_0713-001

Hope the blue is electric enough for her, Bampy chose the buttons at Fibre-East and they are perfect!

Today the temperature is reading 31 degrees on Barry’s barometer thingy, and it would appear that hot weather is happening down south too as I had the cutest little photo sent to me of Esme wearing the little dress I made including the matching frilly knickers!

MAZ_9634 copyMAZ_9632 copy

original

My friend Heather is popping in for a cuppa very soon….I’ll tell you about Sunday next time!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in day out and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A day out

  1. josiekitten says:

    I’ve not heard of that magazine before, is it worth a subscription do you think? Love the dress you made for Esme.

  2. Mary says:

    What a fabulous magazine…………..the patterns are Wow!

  3. Obviously a giant tribble!

Leave a Reply

