A bit of Quilting and other stuff

 

Since arriving back in the UK on the 6th October at silly O’clock I’ve been feeling a bit go-slow….Airplane

I have loads of dyed fibre needing photographing and adding to the shop but really can’t find the mo-jo needed to do this task, but I will, sometime soon. I have noticed that if something starts to play on my mind then it eventually gets done! Party smile

So, I have been taking it easy, think it has a lot to do with jet lag and also the fact that I had the time of my life in Australia, I am missing my new friends very much and hope we stay in touch

One of my last trips was to Mount Macedon with Gayle. She’s an amazing knitter, we have so much in common Smile

Here’s some photos of the wonderful place…oh and before I forget, I also saw Hanging Rock as we drove towards the top of the mountain

DSC_2765-001DSC_2752-001DSC_2747-001DSC_2746-001

The lad in the top photo is Angus, Gayle’s lovely 9.5 year old Grandson

On the very last evening Barry and I went into Melbourne by train to take some night time photographs. You can see my album here

DSC_2811 copy

 

~*~

So now where was I?…oh yes, taking it easy…I’ve been quilting

Finally finished the quilt top

DSC_3025-001

I used this pattern and whilst I’m waiting for the backing fabric to arrive I am trying to think of the best way to quilt it…any ideas?

I have also tried my hand at some free motion quilting on a table runner…think I might have done some of the stitching lines too close together but I think I’ll get the hang of it. Ordered some special gloves that say they give better control of the fabric.

DSC_3035-001DSC_3033-001

I love the mitred corner! I’m saving the rest of the hand stitching of the binding for a new quilt group I’ve found near here…..

However, I do think I need more practice, some of the stitches are too long

DSC_3037-001DSC_3036-001

I am now thinking of my next quilt project and think it will probably be this one

So many lovely things!!

Oh nearly forgot, I’ve been knitting too, made this tiny cardigan and bootees for a soon to be born Granddaughter…

DSC_3028-001DSC_3026-001

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2012, knitting, quilting, sewing, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A bit of Quilting and other stuff

  1. Pat Scott says:

    Love those booties!!!! Would look good on my new Great Granddaughter expected in January! Any chance of getting the pattern? 🙂

    Your photos of “Down Under” are lovely and I really like your quilting!

  2. josiekitten says:

    Welcome home!! Great photos, glad you have had such a fantastic time. Can’t wait to see what fibre treats you have dyed up for the shop. Love, love, love the quilts!!

  3. Kai Mistry says:

    Welcome back! Loving all your photos! And Australia looks fabulous.. 🙂 The booties are great… want a pink bundle now.. *broody*

  4. SarahJ says:

    Glad to have you home again! I love your quilts they are so pretty. Once you get the hang of the free motion quilting please share your tips as I find it quite tricky to do!

Leave a Reply

