144 blocks too many!

I was aiming for 80 half square triangle blocks but ended up with 224….now my maths is usually fine so I don’t know how to explain the brain fart! I simply cannot explain it….Confused smile

Anyway, I spent all day yesterday and most of today trimming those squares into perfect 5.5” blocks. Ooh it made my neck ache!! My stepson suggested I use scissors rather than my neck another time, yes very funny Steve! I use a rotary cutter anyway Smile with tongue out

So, all those blocks were ready to place and I am so very excited to be showing you this

patchwork layout

Can you see the pattern? So clever, just using fabric from my scrap bag, nothing matches, just light and dark….this one is going to be 12 rows of 10 so I reckon I’ve enough to make another one in a Zig Zag design….so…erm….will I need to make some more squares??!?!

I can see from the photo that some of the blocks need rearranging, but I love it, all from scraps…thank you so much Katie for the wonderful tutorial!!

Oh just one more thing, I have at long last updated my shop with some yummy spinning/felting fibre

update 30th October 2012

If you use this code in the checkout ‘PUCKLE ’you will receive 15% discount, ends 1st November at 12 noon UK time

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in fluff-n-stuff, quilting, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 144 blocks too many!

  1. josiekitten says:

    Your quilts are inspirational! I am currently on holiday on the isle of Skye. Tomorrow we are going to visit Skye quilt studio. Can’t wait! Lovely fibre update too – couldn’t resist!

  2. sewkatiedid says:

    can’t wait to see it finished!

  3. Funny how math so often fails when cutting for patchwork. Happens to me all the time.

Leave a Reply

