The quilt show at Duxford

I had no idea of what to expect from the quilt show, held in a hall (hanger, hangar?) which is part of the Imperial War Museum

Barry has been there many times and was quite encouraging of me visiting the place

We had to park  the car quite a way from the hall and had quite a cold-blustery-threatening-to-rain walk to buy our tickets

We arrived about 11.30am and there was hardly a queue to get in but had been forwarned about the queues for the food so we stopped at McD’s for an Egg Mcmuffin meal on the way

Barry was told he could buy a half price ticket and go to both the quilt show and the museum…he was happy…I was happy… BoyGirl

I bought some lovely things, there was such a lot of temptation there…

DSC_3250-001

The fabric in the background is some very fine needlecord from Liberty Fabrics…they call it Kingly Cord, such a posh name. I’m going to make myself a skirt with it, I’ve noticed that I enjoy wearing fullish skirts, mid calf length and need another one as I only have the one which is a very faded grey denim one, John Rocha design bought quite a few years ago now…

DSC_3252-001DSC_3253-001

I bought these two pretty fat eighths (google says that’s the correct spelling but it looks wrong to me lol) bundles of fabrics and then, just as I was about to walk away this caught my eye

DSC_3255-001

You can see the front of the kit in the first photo…I’m hoping to get 2 cushion fronts from this pack…I’ll let you know. It is meant to be a quilt but I saw this as pretty cushion covers. I need to get some muslin to use as a backing before I quilt it

DSC_3254-001

Then this delicious bundle of Lecian fat quarters just spoke to me, the colours within it are so soft and pretty, I love how the bundle looks together so might have trouble opening this up! 19 fat quarters!! I don’t know what the bundle is called and I don’t want to open it up to read the selvedge as I’d never get it back together so beautifully…if any of you know the name of these designs do let me know!

I also bought a new blade for my rotary cutter and a cute bag pattern…..oh and a kit to make some fabric chains, (paper chains) which will be sent to me as they’d run out of stock and need to make more…

DSC_3261-001DSC_3263-001

Those mittens are a WIP…a test knit for one of my lovely Fluff-n-Stuff customers. She used some of my BFL fibre which she handspun into two identical balls of yarn, so clever! Then designed the pattern, I’ll let you know when the pattern is available, it’s great fun to do!

I wish I’d chosen a white background yarn thought, I was eager to get knitting them and used some Oatmeal BFL/Silk I had spun up, just got the thumb to knit now then I shall start the other one! It was hard for me to see my stitches at times, you’d think I’d know better!!

DSC_3257-001

Thought you might like to see this  fabric that I bought from John Lewis yesterday, I only went in for a fan heater lol!! I’m going to make it up into the dress in the pattern next to it…I really need to clear some table space so I can cut it out. It’s a bit tricky knowing where to put anything at the moment though as we’re having the sitting room redecorated. It is looking lovely so far, think the woodwork will be next on the painting agenda. The pale shades of white have really opened the room up….I need to find some curtain fabric soon too

Phew…we never sit still in this house!

Anyway, the 15% discount code ‘PUCKLE’ is still in use until Monday at noon UK time, I decided to let it run a while longer after the success of the first lot of fibre posting I’d done for ages. I have restocked the shop a bit too, so do go and have a look and grab yourself a bargain if you need/want some luxury fibre to spin/felt with Black Sheep

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in day out, decorating, fluff-n-stuff, knitting, quilting, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The quilt show at Duxford

  1. Verónica says:

    How did you get that little sheep icon at the end of your post? Cute!

  2. CCK says:

    What wonderful colours in all those bundles! And you knew someone would ask…..what is the dress pattern? Or are you winging it?

  3. Wanda J says:

    I marvel at how well you’re able to do so many varied things: redecorating the house, sewing, quilting, knitting, spinning and go on such interesting jaunts! Those mittens are beautiful, I love the muted look.
    Have a marvelous time with the grandbaby.

    • picperfic says:

      thank you Wanda…I have to admit that we did have a decorator to do the work in the house, I am going to do the curtains though…a long 4 hour drive to meet my new granddaughter soon, I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

