Sitting Knitting

I’ve been finishing up a few dinky little booties, the first pair I made came out too big mainly because I used worsted weight yarn instead of double knitting as the pattern requires.

Actually I tell a lie, the first pair I made were felted in the machine and they came out like a couple of fur balls!

These latest 2 pairs were felted by hand and came out so beautifully….I was worn out after all the activity needed to get them to felt. I also get very wet!! I’ve since read that they can be felted in a food mixer using the dough hook. I’m so keen to try this out that I just have to knit another pair. Of course I’d use a top loading washing machine of I had one….I’ve had good results from using the tumble dryer but these little critters would just get lost inside the big drum.

image

image

image

Both of the cute designs are by the late Bev Galeskas……she was such a talented woman

It’s been lovely to spend time with my husband this week and just relax and knit especially as I’ve not been feeling that great. I’ve had a migraine every day since last Sunday and it has left me feeling a bit washed out…let’s hope that I don’t get another tomorrow…..

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sitting Knitting

  1. Kai Mistry says:

    Oh both pairs are adorable!!

  2. CCK says:

    Do hope you are feeling better. Cute slippers, the hand-felting though! impressed!

    • picperfic says:

      Thanks Connie….I’m starting to feel a bit better, just hope I don’t wake up with another one tomorrow as I’ve done for 9 mornings on the trot now 😦

      On 7 January 2013 13:46, Picperfic's Blog

  3. paulineos says:

    Gorgeous bootees! Where did you read about the dough hook? Sounds like fun!

  4. josiekitten says:

    Those boots are so cute, clever you!! Sorry to hear you have been suffering with migraines. My mum used to get them and they would wipe her out for days at a time.

    • picperfic says:

      I used to be like that Helen, was a nightmare looking after my children when one hit me….but they have made a lot of progress with migraine medicines and although I’m having a bad bout of them right now, my tablets usually stop it in it’s tracks, but the side effects make me feel groggy

Leave a Reply

