Sewing, knitting, eating..

I have mostly been sewing…making these rather delicious little coats for my 2 youngest granddaughters. They are hopefully big enough to be of more use in the Autumn.

DSC_6025-001

I used an Oliver & S pattern, the School Days Coat. I already had the pattern in the larger sizes but needed the smaller sizes so I bought a digital version of the pattern. I printed off the pattern pieces and then traced off the 2 different sizes. 12-18 and 18-24 months. There are loads of pieces to this coat. I loved cutting out the main fabric. A lovely melton coating which I’d never used before but will definitely be using again. The bunny ears were a request from my son so I just drew an ear shape and cut them out, folding the sides to middle at the top to add a bit of shaping.

The details in this coat are beautiful and it all went together like a dream. I always love a bit of a challenge with my sewing and this fitted the bill perfectly!
The lining even has a little pleat down the back for ease of wear…

DSC_6017-001

Then I got the sewing clothes bug and cut out a jacket and a skirt for myself…I’ve not sewn the skirt yet but the jacket came out better than I had hoped for Smile

DSC_5977-001DSC_5968-001DSC_5987-001DSC_6006-001DSC_6037-001

The black fabric was perfect, a knitted boiled wool, with a lovely soft hand and drape to it. I lined it with some gorgeous heavy satin, a bit wriggly to work with but the end results are worth it…

DSC_5993-001

I love how the lower sleeves are attached to the lining, so it looks like you’re wearing a knitted top underneath the jacket.  The pattern is classed as easy but I would put it at a moderate. The cutting out and marking took ages but needed to be done carefully as the two front pieces are totally different. I used some wool ribbing in a charcoal grey for the sleeves…I am making myself a skirt which will tone in perfectly with this jacket, just need to make a top then I’ll have a whole outfit!

~*~

Has anyone else found this week tricky? I always hate the clocks changing at this time of year, my body really doesn’t want to get up an hour earlier…so I’ve been trying to catch up with myself all week. I have managed to almost complete a project bag order and cut out another 12 of my grab bags. I sewed up 10 of them over the last couple of days and have a few more to finish. I just need to trim off all the ends and sew on the buttons.

DSC_6051-001

there is still free UK postage in my shop but that will probably change next week now I am understanding the new Royal Mail postage changes a bit better…it always unsettles me for a while..

~*~

And now it is Friday evening, almost the weekend again! How did that happen? Anyway, the weekend is my time for creating things for myself, I have to draw the line somewhere otherwise I’d just be working for my shop and never get anything done for myself…

Let’s hope the sun shines a bit over the weekend, we might even get to Peterborough Museum again, this time it might even be open!

Ooh I nearly forgot, I’ve also been designing…some fingerless mitts, which I have named after the wonderfully named Phryne Fisher. Miss fisher is a bit of a female Poirot, not only do I love her name, pronounced FryNee but I watched the whole of the first series on our way back from Australia last year. I am totally hooked and delighted that I found the series on Sky to watch here! It is set in 1920’s Melbourne…just a lovely little programme that is very entertaining. Anyway, I digress, these mitts have been tested and now I just need to write up the PDF and make it look pretty…

DSC_6060-001DSC_6056-001DSC_6063-001

so that’s me done for now…have a lovely weekend Smile

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in knitting, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing, knitting, eating..

  1. josiekitten says:

    So many lovely things here Marianne. What darling little coats they are with the bunny ears! Your jacket looks so stylish, you clever thing! Love the kaleidoscope of colours in your grab bags, and those mitts look very pretty in that variegated yarn. Have a lovely weekend, let’s hope the sun shines. I think we are heading to Wells for a walk on the beach tomorrow!

  2. Oh my these are just adorable….I am always so amazed when I see people who can sew clothes. i am hopeless when it comes in sewing clothes. Lovely coats I am sure your 2 granddaughters will love it! hugs

Leave a Reply

