10 days with Mum

We have had the most wonderful time with my lovely Mum, those 10 days seemed to go in a flash!

I’m just back from Stansted, after making sure she was in the right place and all booked in with her flight back to Belfast.  It felt very quiet in the car on the 1.5 hour drive home, with just a bit of Ken Bruce and then Jeremy Vine for company…

Mum and I went out every day apart from the Sunday just gone…we managed to buy most of the plants I needed to fill my pots, baskets and planters. I’ve got a few more on order but still I’ve forgotten to look for Astrantia, one of my very favourite garden plants. I’ll just have to have another peruse of the online plant stores Winking smile

Before mum arrived, I bought a few patterns and some fabric with which to make her a couple of nighties, a couple of tops and a pair of trousers. I washed and tumble dried the fabric in readiness so it would all be easy care for Mum in the future. I managed all but the nighties, and now I know that the pattern suits her, I shall be making a couple more tops for her in various fabrics

Maeve in her new outfit

Mum would like the trouser legs to be less roomy so I’ll make her some more with that thought in mind

Was so lovely seeing Mum knitting again, she really took to my KnitPro interchangeable needles. I could never knit with straight needles again as I find them really awkward and I have the feeling that Mum feels the same. I found some pretty cotton yarn for her and she knitted me 4 or 5 new flannels/dishcloths. They are so soft and pretty Smile

maeve and the dishcloths (3)

Here’s Mum sewing in the ends on one of them….

We went to a Knit & Natter group with the local U3A on Friday afternoon, was good to see my new friends again. I love how Mum can just fit into any situation and chat and laugh and get on with everybody, it’s a rare skill! They were also fascinated by her dishcloth knitting pattern…here’s the one she uses:-

Aran weight soft cotton, size 4.5-5mm needles
Instructions: Cast on 4 stitches
Row 1: Knit 4
Row 2: Knit 2, yarn over, knit across the row.
Repeat Row 2 until you have 44 stitches on the needle.
Row 3: Knit 1, Knit 2 together, yarn over, knit 2 together, knit to the end of the row.
Repeat Row 3 until you have 4 stitches on the needle. Cast off

So now, I am just having a much needed cuppa and recharging my batteries so that I can get on with my sewing orders tomorrow

The Giveaway is now closed…I have numbered and printed off all the comments and will put them into 2 piles ready for the number generator Barry to pull the names out of 2 bags this evening….

Hope you’ve all been behaving yourselves whilst I’ve been busy with Maeve, I know lots of my woolly friends went to Wonder Wool last weekend…I’m looking forward to seeing my friend Heather on Friday so she can tell me all about it.

On Saturday, Ali (my eldest) is coming to stay with her 4 precious darlings for a couple of nights. On the Sunday I think we’ll have rather a houseful too….hope the weather is kind to us Sun

I’ll be back tomorrow to announce the winners….fingers crossed that you win the prize!!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in family, garden, giveaway, knitting, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 days with Mum

  1. So glad that you and your Mum had a great time together. Wishing her a safe and comfortable journey home, and a speedy reunion of you both. x

  2. Robin Crittenden says:

    your Mom is so cute.

Leave a Reply

