My new nightdress

I have had such a good time with my newest acquisition. It is the delightful book by Caro London called “And Sew to Bed”

I saw a beautiful dressing gown sewn by someone in a sewing forum on Ravelry. I investigated the book and was hooked, I ‘needed’ this book!

A few days later it arrived and I knew I wanted to sew myself a new nighty and a dressing gown. I kept looking at fabric and new it was going to cost a fair bit in fabric for the two articles.  I then remembered that I had a dress length of a beautiful cotton fabric which had been in my stash for a while. it never quite felt right for it to be made into a dress for me especially as I had already made a dress out of the same fabric a couple of year’s ago.

This lovely dress turned out too big for me so I sold it for the price of the fabric and promptly bought some more, which sat in my stash until yesterday

1-MAZ_8458

Yesterday was spent tracing off the pattern whilst the chosen fabric dried in the sunshine, I found 2 other prints which coordinated well  Smile

Garden progress 25th May 2013 (3)

It soon dried so I was then able to cut out the pattern pieces

So today was spent sewing the gorgeous nightdress

frilled strappy nightdress (1)

Instead of gathering the frills in the normal way as instructed in the book, I used my ruffler attachment which made light work of the task

The most difficult bit for me was sewing down the bias binding after tucking the raw edge under the seam, enclosing the ruffle edges, it would probably have been quicker to tack it down before sewing, but I thought pins would do…more haste less speed!

I removed the slider and ring off an old bra so I could use them on the straps, it worked well, makes me wish I hadn’t thrown out a load of bras before cutting off the findings a while back

frilled strappy nightdress (2)

I am really happy with how it has turned out and am looking forward to wearing it

frilled strappy nightdress (5)

A lovely pattern, I hope the Kimono Robe pleases me as much as this does

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My new nightdress

  1. Freyalyn says:

    You can find findings for bras on various websites and even eBay – http://www.venacavadesign.co.uk/ for all sorts of underwear makings…

  2. Love it. Your new nightdress is beautiful.

  3. josiekitten says:

    It looks lovely Marianne. I wish I could sew!!

Leave a Reply

