Peg Bag or Fibre Container

Today I felt the need to make myself a new pegbag

For months I have been struggling with my broken peg basket

10-DSC_8060

As the temperature rose, I started to melt…it is currently 32.5° here at 16.22 pm

Having spent yesterday tidying up my sewing room I really wanted to start messing it up again ….

workroom before and after

I had this (what I thought was simple) project in mind..

I bought this pattern a few weeks ago and love how it looks. I saw them first of all on Nicola’s blog….

Soo, I decided not to cut into any big pieces of fabric, but to use scraps, I love almost all of my fabrics so it wasn’t hard to find pieces that complimented each other.

I followed the directions/pictures in the pattern and realised what an old fiddle it was to put together and will definitely make some changes to how I put my next one together…oh yes, there will be a next one because the finished article is delightful. One thing I will change is that I will put binding around the hole in the front, this will make the whole quilting and sewing together so much quicker. I need to find some of those bigger clips too, the ones that climbers use to hang their kettles, ropes and axes from their belts? I have no idea what they are called??

11-DSC_8061

but wait…would this bag not be a useful addition to a spinners kit?

I filled it with 150g of my Wylie fibre and decided that it would be such a pretty bag to keep it free of dust as you draft it for spinning….

01-DSC_804702-DSC_8048

It also sits on it’s bottom beautifully

03-DSC_805004-DSC_8051

Love how the stripes chevron at the back….

This one will be my peg bag, not something I would leave outside in all weathers though… Sun Lightning Umbrella Storm cloud

So, that is how I have spent this very hot day after I went and got weighed at my slimming group this morning. Can you believe that I managed to lose the half a pound that I put on at last week’s weigh in. I am delighted, especially when you consider the cake and ice creams I ate at Fibre-East at the weekend Flirt male 

I also want to offer a public apology to those of you that are waiting for me to sew you something beautiful. I know I should have been getting on with my orders but I needed to familiarise myself with my workroom as I’ve not worked in there for about a month. Also, I can’t make any needle organisers until next week as hopefully I will have my new overlocker by then…I am sillily excited about this new machine. I felt a bit sad seeing my old overlocker leave on Saturday, but I know it has gone to a very good home and will be well loved. I am totally lost without one though, what a numpty Just kidding

So there we have it, peg bag or fibre holder?

I will be making some of these for sale when I have completed my sewing and dyeing orders…

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Peg Bag or Fibre Container

  1. hilltopkatie says:

    Karabiner is the climbers clip you’re after!
    Gorgeous bag, perfect for fibre!

  2. whereswoolly says:

    I think you are looking for a carabiner. You can get ones that are great for attaching bags at camping shops but the ones you need for climbing are much heavier

  3. Nicola says:

    Ohhhh fancy you liking the ones on Nicola’s blog 😉
    Love your pegbag/ fibre bag. These look great Marianne!! I’ve lost count of the number of these that I’ve made!! Although I always quilt mine before I add the lining and then cut the hole in the middle and turn it through. I’ve seen some really great looking carabiner clips in my local DIY store in an assortment of metallic colours – blue/ green/ purple and red. They looked great and weren’t very expensive.

    • picperfic says:

      thank you Nicola…I’ve just ordered some coloured ones from Ebay, very reasonable price too. I intend to do the same as quilting and sewing the lining by hand was really fiddly and tricky!

      On 1 August 2013 18:36, Picperfic's Blog

  4. josiekitten says:

    I was going to say ‘carabiner’ too – the only reason I know about them is because I had to fasten and unfasten them when I took my kids abseiling and zipwiring!! (I am definitely not a camper!!) I love how this has turned out, and agree that it is the perfect fibre storage bag. Lovely!

  5. Cute idea! Was great to see you at Fibre East… Hope the weather cools down a bit for you soon though… Terribly humid and stormy with the heat here. Sx

  6. Pingback: Wigwams | Picperfic's Blog

Leave a Reply

