Stitchery

Just before I go to the post office I thought I would show you the stitchery I’ve been doing lately

1-DSC_8796

The bunnies are arranged just as they were left by my son and daughter in law…makes me smile to see them like that Open-mouthed smile

Anyway, the stitchery is a kit by Leanne Beaseley, she is such a talented woman…I can’t get enough of her work at the moment. I started to feel the need to do some stitchery after seeing Nicola’s work on her blog. My fingers really became itchy to try some so I felt a kit would be the best way to go.  This will be a needle roll, to keep my stitchery items in. I still have the inside to stitch and then I have to do some paper piecing (another new craft for me). You can see the finished article here. It is so pretty and great fun to do…I am hooked!!

Also, I bought a little Sue Daley kit to try out some English Paper Piecing. I had it in my posession for a couple of weeks and then when my Needlecraft Group started up again this week I though I would take it along to have a go. After watching the video in that link, I also bought the starter pack so I had all the tools needed to get going. Do you know how dangerous it is for me to look at that website to find the links for you…I notice all sorts of new items that I most definitely need!!!

So I raided my small pieces of scraps bag (yes, I do have a large pieces of scraps bag too!) and ironed them flat, ready for cutting into hexagons at the group. I didn’t layer up my fabric as the video showed as I wanted to make best use of my small pieces. I used my new marker pen and drew the shapes before cutting them out with scissors. It was a very therapeutic exercise…. I noticed that a couple of the other members of the group were sewing larger hexagons in the more traditional way and made a mental note that doing it that way was probably too slow for me to enjoy…I enjoyed gluing!

In the 2.5 hours I was there, I managed to get quite a few of the tiny weeny hexagons prepared ready for hand stitching

1-DSC_8865

My intention is to make a piece of fabric with which I hope to sew a framed purse….

Tomorrow morning I am heading to Ely for a sewing class in the art of Japanese Patchwork. Really looking forward to this Smile

Sew Much to Do have just posted this on their Facebook Page:

Free tomorrow morning? Fancy learning something new?
Miss Mellymade and I will be taking the morning off (thanks Annabel!) and joining our Japanese Folded Patchwork workshop with Vida…can’t wait! If you fancy joining us we’ve got some spaces available, £22 inc refreshments 🙂

Japanese Folded Patchwork with Vida

Friday at 09:30

7 High Street Passage, CB7 4NB Ely, Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

Smile

now where was I? Oh yes…off to the Post Office…Laters!!


About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Stitchery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stitchery

  1. mavis32 says:

    You are so clever my Marie, Such pretty stitchery xxx

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

