Strip Patchwork Book Bag

Having seen a lovely pattern on the internet to make a patchwork book bag, I thought I would have a go myself.

1-DSC_9130

Rather than using a honey bun roll of fabric, I just cut 1.5” strips, no shorter than 18” long, from my scrap bags

After sewing the strips to the wadding I used lots of different quilting stitches along the seam lines. It pleases me no end! I also used a colour changing quilting thread which added to the fun. I can see me needing to add all sorts of pretty new threads to my kit. Don’t you just love those quilting stitches?

2-DSC_91353-DSC_91364-DSC_9142

I needed to get to know my new overlocker (serger) a bit better and felt that this little bag would help me to learn about the funky wave stitch

8-DSC_9156

I kept getting loopy stitches in my trials! I made myself read the instructions again and again, and then I checked out the diagrams and realised I was threading it up wrongly. I think I speed read instructions….

Once I’d worked it out, it was plain sailing, except that the needle thread kept snapping!!! I certainly learned a lot about threading it! Actually, I don’t mind threading it at all, it is great fun, the machine sucks the thread and squirts it out in the right place! Much easier than my old one…

The pattern can be found here, I can spend hours looking at Moda Bakeshop Recipes!!

I might just have to have another go, I’ve loads of scraps to use up!

If you’d like to see even more photos of this lovely bag then click here Smile

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in babylock, bags, patchwork, quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strip Patchwork Book Bag

  1. josiekitten says:

    Oh it is just totally scrumptious Marianne! I love all those delicate embroidery stitches, and all the fabrics just zing together!!

  2. blueadt says:

    Very cute!

    I’m another who loves Modabakeshop, a few patterns are a bit urgh! but most are great.

  3. Emily says:

    Hi there,

    I am writing to you on behalf of Southbank Centre. I have really enjoyed reading your blog and I would love to speak with you about an upcoming knitting project organised by the centre.

    If you would like to hear details about the project drop me an email at emily.browne@southbankcentre.co.uk

    Best wishes,

    Emily

Leave a Reply

