Spinning, Knitting and Sewing

I made Esme an Earflap Hat using some of my handspun merino, cashmere and silk….it fits!! Hopefully the ties will help with the keeping it on her head situation!

After I had finished it, I cast on another, but I still need to make the pom pom…not quite enough yarn left from a 50g ball so I’ll see if I can find something in my stash to go with what’s left of the pink yarn 🙂 It’s a very economical and lovely design and one that I’ll definitely be knitting again!

The socks are called Simplicity, and they were indeed simple to knit. The eagle eyed amongst you will notice that they are made from the same yarn as I used for my Make Up Socks. I had two 100g balls of that yarn to use up…both pairs were knitted with the 2 at once method, toe up…lovely patterns, both of them 😀

That pretty fabric and elastic is a knicker kit that I bought from Trixie Lixie….it all looks simple enough, I love the bright Kaffe Fassett fabric too, I’ll let you know how I get on….

Aren’t knickers expensive!!!??!? I’m going to have a go with some cotton jersey fabric too 😉

I am going to make myself a pair of these pretty flower socks using the Sokkussu O yarn. I’ve made this design before, for a gift, but this time, I intend to keep them for myself. The flowers are first crocheted and then the socks are knitted toe up in the round until you get to the leg, which is knitted back and forth to allow for the flower placement at the end..I know I really enjoyed making them

Lastly, you can see the progress that I’ve made on my Egret spinning, there’s about 20g of my Halo blend spun…I am just loving seeing the colours changing! The spindle is feeling a little heavy now, so I’ll probably stop when I’ve done about 25g

Hope you’re all enjoying a bit of you time….I am, but I am also sewing up those WigWams for my shop, I’ll let you know when they’ve been listed 🙂

ETA: There will definitely be a fibre prize for one lucky person taking part in the Ravellenics Spin Along going on in my group. No need to be spinning up my fibre either, just take part and chat along in the thread? Oh and post a photo or two, we always love a photo!!

http://www.picperfic.co.uk

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in 2014, family, grandchildren, knitting, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

