Reasons to be cheerful

Remember that storm in October 1987? Well I was living in Jersey in the Channel Islands when that storm happened at it was scary but the devastation it caused to that small island was immense!! My Mum had come over to stay with us, she took some brilliant photos the day after the storm…I’ll have to have a hunt through my old photos to see if I can find any

Anyway, what I am really wanting to show you is this cardigan (further down the page) that I have just finished making on my Knitting Machine…..the connection with the above statement is the date, it was when I last made the jumper in this photo

Look at all those ends that I had to weave in!!

I changed the design to a cardigan as I do enjoy cardigans more than jumpers these days….it is soo warm and snuggly, the strands at the back of the fairisle all add to the insulation so it will be great to wear as soon as Spring arrives. The sun has shone all day today and so many bulbs are popping open….made me realise just how much work there is to do in the garden when I walked back from the post box earlier today

Machine Knitted Fair Isle Jumper

My lovely new cardigan is now on the airer, finishing drying, I only pegged it on the line for the photos 😉

The yarn I used in the jumper that I made in 1987 was the proper yarn for the design, Rowan Fine Tweed, I found it for sale, on cones, in a wool shop in the Market. I loved it in that shop, that was so much inspiration to be had. I couldn’t believe my luck in finding the exact yarn, in the colours that pleased me, on that tiny island!! Would love it if Rowan decided to stock that yarn on cone again, all the winding of balls into free flowing yarn cakes, takes so much more time! I have no photos of me wearing that jumper but I know I loved it to bits, and I wore a hole in the bum of it eventually….how I wish I had kept hold of it, I can’t remember what I did with it in the end…I remember that I made the buttons from some Fimo

I used KnitPicks Stroll Tweed yarn this time, I really wanted to keep to the original colours if I could….what pleased me most was finding the original, but slightly yellowed, punch card, and seeing my own handwriting on the the card, telling me where to change colours….it was such a long time ago, and so much has changed in my life since that time

I fed all the yarn into the machine by hand, the balls of wool were on the floor beside me and I soon got into a rhythm. I did take much much longer than I used to take to make a garment. There was a time when I could knock one out in a day, and that was when my children were little! I do think my energy levels are low at the moment though, February is always a difficult month for me and having that sickness bug last month really knocked me for six

I’ll leave you with a lovely pot of Polyanthus that I won a couple of weeks ago…they really look so pretty on my kitchen windowsill and make me smile when I notice them

Anyway, I must dash, my husband is home after 3 days away….. 😀

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in machine knitting, memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reasons to be cheerful

  1. josiekitten says:

    That is the perfect spring cardigan and I love the beautiful, soft colours. Your primulas are looking so pretty too. I love this time of year! Hope you are feeling better. xx

  2. knitmanyarn says:

    perfect! i love those fi’s and so much easier on the machine. tho i never found it necessary to sew in end. x

Leave a Reply

