Sally’s Cardigan

On Saturday, my lovely friend Sally came round for a playdate. We always have a lovely time together and between us we usually come up with something creative. This day was no exception…Sally was keen to get her hands on my knitting machine!

Having attached the YC6 Colour Changer a few days previously, I had a fair idea of how it worked…I’d always wanted one of these clever gadgets, all those hundreds of years ago, well about 25 to be sort of correct. It changes colour automatically, well it does for 2 colours, I need to try it out further to see if it will change the colours automatically for 4 yarns…I was pushing the buttons manually in my trials of more than one yarn :3

YC6 Colour changer

I had briefly written down the pattern of the slouchy cardigan that I had made a few weeks ago and Sally tried it on and thought that she’d like to make one using her very precious handspun 2ply laceweight yarn! Her yarn was stunning, wish I had taken a photo before she’d knitted it up. Oh and not only had Sally never used a knitting machine before but she’d like to do stripes! Oh goodness…I just hoped she would cope with all the colour changes..every 2 rows colour changing…arghhh! I knew Sally was a capable girl and a brilliant hand knitter but stripes!?!? Barry suggested that Sally use the colour changer, I agreed, it might make things a bit easier

So it was decided, 2 row stripes of laceweight handspun and coned yak yarn

After a couple of false starts she was off, following my instructions and noting down any changes as we went along….it only fell into her lap about 4 times…no panic but it’s horrible when it happens lol. I carefully put the stitches back on the needles and set her going again

Sally took her completed pieces of machine knitting home with her so she could sew it up and block it…..

Isn’t it adorable?

As Sally said, “Aren’t we clever!!”

I am going to write this pattern up, I have ordered some suitable yarn and will be taking lots of photos and writing lots of notes as I go

Hope you’re enjoying the lovely Spring weather…19° yesterday, here in the Fens!!

http://www.picperfic.co.uk

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in machine knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sally’s Cardigan

  1. It’s gorgeous – I’d love it if you did get time to write out some instructions. I have a standard guage machine that I’m teaching myself to use. It’s going well but it’s so difficult to find patterns in a nice style that aren’t too complicated to follow 🙂

    • picperfic says:

      Have you looked on you tube for help? I was lucky, all those year’s ago now, my friend and her Mum also bought the same knitting machine as me. Her Mum went for lessons, taught my friend what she had learnt and then my friend showed me 🙂

  2. knitmanyarn says:

    Mariannne-you reallly have come along way and seem to have found your niche. Now, I still do lovely coffee and right now I have lovely puppies too!

  3. picperfic says:

    I’ll be in touch soon Colin 😉

Leave a Reply

