Keeping Busy and a winner!!

Barry left for Australia on Friday, another business trip….really miss my husband 😦

However, to keep myself busy whilst he’s away (2 weeks), I have filled my diary with exciting things to do, like visiting friend’s I’ve not seen for years, going for walks with friends, having a couple of playdates(craft) and a few free days so I can please myself a bit

I picked Maisie, my youngest, up from the railways station on Friday evening. Maisie came to spend the Mother’s Day weekend with me, perfect timing! She travelled by train from Chichester where she’s studying for a degree

We had a lovely weekend, on Saturday we went into Cambridge and I treated Maisie to a meal at Jamie’s Italian, it was scrummy even though Maisie finds the man himself a bit hard to take lol

Sunday morning we had lunch in a garden centre, yummy roast! After which we went in a few shops and then it was time for Maisie to get on the train again…we both had to hold back the tears, she’s lovely company and I knew I was driving back to an empty house 😦

I’ve been ok though, keeping busy, today i joined in with a Sew Along on Facebook, to make the Cinch It In Tote bag, I loved the pattern and was keen to make it, what I didn’t realise was that it was a large bag!!

I cut out all the pieces and then started joining them and was pleased to read that the joined strips could be quilted, and I just love to use the pretty stitches on my sewing machine

I also added interfacing even though the pattern didn’t tell you to, some of my fabrics were a bit lighter weight than others and I felt they needed more support, the straps were interfaced too

I love the grosgrain ribbon on the underside of the straps

I do not like grommets! I ruined three of them, good job there were 8 in the pack…I’ve never used this size grommet before and found that the hole that the tool cuts out was on the large size. I put in a tiny running stitch about 1/8th of an inch from the edge and pulled it in slightly. This slight gathering worked really well and my edges stayed inside the confines of the grommet.

When you lift the bag by the handles it cleverly pulls in, hence the name…cinch!

I love it, and it is mine this time I’m afraid, I needed a new bag which would hold all my paraphernalia!

Last week I finished these two cute little Mini Wigwams for a customer, I had been thinking about sewing some smaller ones but having a request prompted me to see if it would work on a smaller scale…it did! A bit more fiddly to make but the results are well worth it

So tomorrow I am off for a walk, a 5 1/2 mile walk!! Denver Sluice, sounds interesting, I’m taking my camera so will show you photos…that’s if I have the strength to click the shutter after such a long walk…can you tell that I’m a bit wary?!?!?

I’m going to put my feet up and do a bit of crochet this evening…

but first I have decided that the winner of my name the colourway is Karen Hancock….I just loved the name, Elephants in Custard! Hilarious….I’ll be in touch soon Karen, for your address. I loved all the different names but as soon as I read Karen’s I just had a chuckle to myself, and every time I re-read it I chuckled again.

Thank you to all that took part xx

Elephants in Custard…I ask you!! haha

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, crochet, Friends, giveaway, mothers day, patchwork, quilting, sewing, walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keeping Busy and a winner!!

  1. nsturgill says:

    Love the colors of the bag

  2. josiekitten says:

    Oooh I love Jamie’s food! Lucky you! Your new bag is very pretty and as for those wigwams – so, so cute! What are the dimensions? Love how the darker fabric is either side of the zip. Have a good time keeping busy while Barry is away, the time will fly by and he will be back before you know it!

  3. Josie says:

    I’m sorry that you were left all alone, but on the upside you stitched the most gorgeous bag!

  4. Oooo, I won!

    A bit behind on blogs and emails, but that has made my day! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

