Schoolhouse Tunic

Today I had another playdate…this time, my lovely friend Rosanna came to see me.

As she carried her spinning wheel in from her car, I immediately noticed an amazing yellow leather bucket/basket hanging from her wheel, in which was some very pretty peacock blue roving…it was the little basket that I really loved (why didn’t I take a photo?). I have placed an order for a green leather basket to hang from my spinning wheel, so I’ll show you as soon as I have it in my clutches! I have never seen such a useful thing that is so good looking, well, that’s not strictly true, I think Barry comes into that category too 😀

Talking of Barry, he’s still in Melbourne but arrives back in the UK on Saturday morning. I have missed him so much but in order to keep myself happy, I added plenty of activities to my calendar to make the fortnight that he’s been away, a little easier to bear…it still seems to have taken an age to pass

Whilst I was waiting for Rosanna to arrive this morning, I cut out a Schoolhouse Tunic, using some pure linen fabric I bought from Sew Much to Do in Ely, it is wonderful stuff, I’ve also got some light navy in the same cloth and might just make another of these tunics

It was so quick to put together, I added lots of fine top stitching to mine, I just love the look of top stitched linen 🙂

Incidentally, the linen is slightly duller than in the photos….

I’m looking forward to wearing this, perfect for a warm Spring day…

I lined the bodice with some fine Tana Lawn that I bought in London last year when I met up with another special friend, Carle, who was here on a business trip from South Africa..that was another magical day in my life….

Love the surprise of the pretty fabric peeping out

Tomorrow, I am meeting another friend for lunch, then I think I need to get on with some shop sewing!

Happy Birthday Emilia…my beautiful first born Granddaughter is 13 today!!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Friends, sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Schoolhouse Tunic

  1. exidia says:

    I don’t like this I LOVE it – you are sooo clever

  2. Sharon says:

    What a lovely Tunic! I hope you will have lots of happy times while wearing it!!

  3. josiekitten says:

    I LOVE it Marianne! Please share some modelled photos. Is it difficult to make? I would love to try making a top like this, I think I would wear it loads! The lining fabric is perfect too, you always finish things off so beautifully!

    • picperfic says:

      It is really easy to make and all went together so easily. No tailor tacking to do just snips in the seam allowance to match up during assembly. The set in sleeve was a doddle using a row of gathering stitches to ease it in place 🙂

      On 11 April 2014 08:09, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

    • picperfic says:

      It was easy to sew, the set in sleeve needed a little attention but nothing too taxing 🙂

  4. Wanda J says:

    Temptress! You always make me want to dig out the sewing machine, even though I know I’m bound to end up fighting with it.

  5. knittynutter says:

    absolutely love that tunic. do you think a scared newbie would be able to make it?

  6. Josie says:

    Wow, I love, love, love your tunic. Thanks also for the link to the shop in High Street Passage. My parents live in Ely but hadn’t mentioned it to me. I feel a visit and spending spree coming on!

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Hi Marianne — I’m just having a massive catch up on your blog — it looks like you’ve had a busy, fun, and productive spring! I LOVE LOVE this tunic — the linen and the little sneak-peek of the liberty is beautiful. As so many of your other projects are!!!

    • picperfic says:

      Hi Anna, so lovely to hear from you…I’m rubbish at visiting blogs lately, been far too busy to know what’s going on in the real world lol….I just bought some more of that linen, in white and gorgeous mauvey taupe colour xo

Leave a Reply

