Jet Lag

So, we left the UK on the 21st of July and headed for Dubai and our connecting flight to Melbourne….Once safely arrived at Howard and Maria’s it became apparent that I had misplaced my phone! My lovely new purple Xperia Z2 no less. This was my second one in a fortnight as the first one had a dodgy camera focus problem.

Hope I’m making sense here, we only landed back in the UK this morning and I’ve been feeling rather peculiar ever since, but I just wanted to tell you the story of my phone

I looked through all my hand luggage, answered all the usual questions from Barry, but no, I did not have my phone any more 😦 The last I remembered using it was to phone my Mum, but we were a little late getting to the check in so after saying bye to Mum I remember just stuffing it into my hand baggage….I think it must have fallen out of my bag in the cramped conditions of the 6/7 hour flight to Dubai. Losing such a precious item is sickening, leaves a big hole in your heart, especially as I had only just renewed my contract. We contacted O2 and managed to put a block on my phone and number

The next day we went out with our wonderful hosts and visited some very interesting places, but I will tell you more of that in another post. One of the places was a mobile phone shop. Barry bought me another one of the same and a local sim to keep me going and all was well. We would claim for the new phone on our return to the UK,or so we thought…

So then, almost 4 weeks later, we find ourselves back in Dubai and Barry has a brainwave of asking if they have a lost property department. The security chap nodded his head towards the Police Office, so off we go. I managing, with some help from Barry, to explain about my lost phone and wondered if it might have been lost on the plane on our outward journey

It was a noisy office, lots of handsome policemen in there all talking arabic…except for the one asking me questions about the flight details and phone details…when, an oriental gentleman seemed to appear at the door saying the he was drunk and could someone please direct him to the toilet! Hmm…this was like border force, a programme that Barry and I enjoy watching. The oriental gentleman was ushered away and we continued with our business…I was left on hold to the lost property department whilst still sat at the desk in the police office, thankfully, the woman on the end of the phone spoke perfect english

Then, the officer, dealing with me, suddenly said, “Do you want to sit down in here or go to a police cell?”…with some relief I realised that the oriental gentleman was back in the room, all the policemen started offering advice, in arabic, then the drunken man, said that he needed water, to dilute the wine so he could get sober again. This caused a few smiles and I heard some mention of coffee…then he would be fine and able to go on his way. The silly man then said, with his arms flailing all over the place that coffee would send him to sleep and that he needed tea, tea would work!! This caused even more smirks from the officers…I was still on hold and was mouthing to Barry that we needed to go, we only had a few minutes left to get on the connecting flight to Heathrow. I was getting in a right old panic, the chap dealing with me seemed in no hurry to deal with anything, but Barry said we would give it 5 more minutes….still on hold…then suddenly the lost property woman was back and said she had my phone!! Hurrah!!…well sort of hurrah as we then really had to leg it to the boarding gate as we could hear the final call for our flight being spoken on the tannoy. I explained that we had to go, they made a note of our flight and told us to be on our way…so near yet so far….

We boarded the plane, explaining to the air hostess about the phone, she made a note of our seat number and said she’d let us know either way

Oh well, they had our details and gave us an email number if the phone didn’t reach us before the plane left…..oh such a kerfuffle…we were trying to calm down when suddenly, one of the officers was walking towards us with my phone in hand…I signed a form and that was that! I now had 2 phones safely put away in my zipped up bag 😀

Then there were a few messages to the passengers about belongings left on the plane when we had to leave it so it could be cleaned before returning to it an hour or so later for the last leg of the journey. There were some headphones, then an ipod and headphones and then a camera was mentioned…hmmm…Barry had asked for my camera during the previous flight and I didn’t remember putting it back in my bag. I looked for it but no, we didn’t have it…can you imagine how flippin stressful all this is??? Barry summoned one of the airline staff and told them the model of the camera and the bag, a while later, he returned with my precious camera. I nearly cried with relief! The chap sat next to me must have thought we were really careless, which as it happens, is exactly how I was feeling!

So now we are home, Barry told me to stay awake until bedtime, but well, yes, you’ve guessed it, he’s snoring, loudly and it’s only 8pm!

I’ll leave you with the last photo I took on the newer phone….and because the phone was found, Barry has a lovely new phone the same as mine! Howard and HIlda live on..xxx

Is it bedtime yet?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Australia, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jet Lag

  1. josiekitten says:

    Crikey! Such dramas! Glad you had a good trip and welcome home!

  2. Adrienne Sharman says:

    What event filled travelling! Glad you had such a good holiday. You tell the story so well – I’m chuckling even now!!

  3. gayle moore says:

    Hi Marianne,
    Wow ,so you found your phone and camera,that must have been a great end to your trip down under.What did you think of Sydney? Though did you see that Melbourne has won the most friendly city in the world again, for the 4th year in a row.
    We so enjoyed the days you joined us for knitting, spinning ,chatting, eating, etc.
    Take care,see you next time you come for a visit
    Gayle
    Macedon Ranges Spinning and Fibre Group

Leave a Reply

