A Tilda Doll

I had wanted to make one of these lanky dolls for ages and so, this year I made one for Maisie to take to University with her. This is her second year and the first in a shared house… I have a few of the Tilda books, and love looking at the pictures and really love the dolls/angels so much I loved making her from start to finish, well that’s not exactly true, stuffing those tiny limbs was a bit of a nightmare! I bought all the proper Tilda fabrics for my first one, it is such beautiful quality to work with I used a transfer pencil to draw out the shapes and sadly the blue shows through the fine seams, I will think of a different way of working next time

I did however, really love dressing her

but her hair was another story….it sort of looks ok, her eyes are french knots, the pattern says to use a black marker pen…eeeek! She has my new lipstick on her cheeks, just dabbed on very lightly

and her little slippers are so dinky and cute

Last year I made Maisie a quilt to make her bed at Uni feel a bit more like home…

I have made a start on some wigwams for my shop, small and original sizes…I’ll let you know when they are going into the shop…I know that many of you have been waiting patiently for me to make more of them This summer has been particularly busy for me, I have started to find time to do things that I love, anything creative really…I have another machine knitting design I want to get down on paper, a child’s top..oh and another for a batwing cardigan for a woman….oh and another round of my Luxury Fibre Club is imminent…it’s going to be a bit different this time, if you’ve signed up watch out for an email sometime this coming week 🙂

This weekend has been spent decorating our guest room, I was surprised at how much I have enjoyed doing the woodwork and radiator…so strange, I used to loathe and detest painting but to slow down and enjoy being in the company of my very busy husband has been wonderful. I was worried that we’d fall out over the decorating but instead, we are both feeling a great sense of achievement and have both mentioned that we wish we had done this sooner! I will have to sew a roman blind for the window…oh the hardship lol Still got a fair bit of work to go though, think we’ll be doing more next weekend as Barry is away again this week….and really, evenings are spent with my feet up on the sofa and knitting!!

Enjoy what’s left of your weekend Marianne x

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in Tilda and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Tilda Doll

  1. Robin Crittenden says:

    Love the doll. Make me one with English fabrics. Ha, I can wish. I know it’s nice to have that sense of accomplishment. Gives me lots of happy hormones.

  2. josiekitten says:

    I’ve not heard of those dolls before but yours is so pretty! I love the quilt you made for Maisie too, especially all those stitches you used. I am intrigued by what you have in store for us in the Fibre club!!

  3. faerynuff1 says:

    Wig wam bam!

    Gorgeous as always x

    • picperfic says:

      Wig-wam bam, gonna make you my man
      Wam bam bam, gonna get you if I can
      Wig-wam bam, wanna make you understand
      Try a little touch, try a little too much
      Just try a little wig-wam bam xx

  4. Pingback: La Moda Quilt | Picperfic's Blog

Leave a Reply

