Quilted Camera Strap

A few days ago, my precious Mum fell out of her back door…she dislocated her shoulder, has a haematoma on her forehead and needed 6 stitches below her eyebrow. As the days have gone on, the bruising has come out, she now has two black eyes and her legs are bruised too

I felt so sad when I heard this news, I had only just put her on a plane back to Northern Ireland, we had had 2 lovely weeks together, just pootling along at Mum’s pace. Mum has a stairlift in her house, but our cosy little cottage doesn’t, so going up and downstairs also took Mum some time, but she coped ok. We had lots of fun, both my boys visited whilst their Grandma was here, it felt good, even if a lot of my time was spent cooking and clearing up again…I love nothing more than a house full of happy people

This is Mum, looking lovely at Rutland Water

This is my youngest son, his lovely girlfriend and their darling little girl in the gardens of Haddenham Galleries, Indi kept calling Mum ‘Grandma Mavis’ and as there were too many Grandmas in the house, she didn’t call me anything! Apparently, she doesn’t call her Mum’s Mum Grandma either, she calls her Darling because she hears her Grandad calling her that, how precious is that?…I have since seen a cute video of Indi opening her birthday present from me, and at the end, she says ‘fankoo Grandma’….that’ll do for me 🙂

The is my oldest son, Edward and his lovely wife Michelle, sorry I made you all look into the sun …

So, well, yes, it has been a busy old time, but I loved every moment in their company

Oh yes, I was telling you about Mum and her fall she’s had…

She is on the mend, but 6 weeks with her arm firmly in a sling will take an age to pass, and I feel helpless over here but I know she is in good hands

So, going back to the title of this post ‘Quilted Camera Strap’

While Mum was here, she proudly showed us her new camera but she only had a wrist strap for it and we decided that she’d probably get on better with a proper strap, ‘I know, I’ve seen a lovely quilted camera strap tutorial online somewhere, I’ll make you one!’

However, when i searched for a tutorial, I could only find ones for a wider strap of a bigger, heavier camera, so I decided to write my own…I have taken some photos to inspire you

I will make another and take detailed photos as I work so that you can make one for yourself

This is my boring old strap that I will cover very soon…do you like the way I’ve got it focussing on the one I made for my Mum? lol

See that dinky pocket…it’s for putting the lens cap in, this is almost the best part of the strap for me, I always forget where I have put the lens cap, now there will be no excuses and no pocket and bags hunts going on!

It’s a great way of using up some fabric scraps and another opportunity for me to use some of the pretty embroidery stitches on my machine 🙂

aren’t they gorgeous?

Do click on the photos for a better look at the detail, love the variegated topstitching thread that I used

Today, I have cut out a skirt for me!! It seems like an age since I made myself anything

I bought the material at a pop up fabric shop in Trumpington Village Hall, it happens once a month and is well worth a visit, beautiful fabrics at excellent prices..this is some very soft needlecord, embroidered with strips of voile

I’ve had the pattern for ages, I did make the trousers and they came out rather large and I never wore them, so this time, making the skirt I will be aware of the largeness 😉

The pattern is V8499

Have a lovely weekend everyone…I’m in my sewing room if you need me!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in family, quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quilted Camera Strap

  1. Mary says:

    Snap ! it makes up well

  2. josiekitten says:

    So sorry to hear about your Mum, I do hope she’s on the mend. The camera strap will cheer her up no end! It’s beautiful. Love the variegated yarn and all those pretty stitches. I wish my sewing machine did more exciting things!

  3. mavis32 says:

    I’m getting on fine. Bruising fading but sling a bit tedious. Still could Such a clever thoughtful daughter xxx

  4. Wanda J says:

    Oh your poor mum! How excruciating that dislocated shoulder must have been. I’m glad she chimed in here letting us know she’s getting on fine. What a trooper she is.

    I loved seeing the pictures of your sons. The English language is hopelessly inadequate about names for grandparents, lumping every layer of generations, paternity & maternity all under one term.

    Clever camera strap!

    • picperfic says:

      Thank you Wanda….you are so right about what the generations are called…great great great great what?!?!

      On 24 November 2014 at 15:33, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

