A tale of two bags

Can you spot the difference? (sorry about the difference in the quality of the photos, the second one was taken on my mobile phone)

I have made plenty of these wonderful Expandable Pack-it-In tote bags in the past, you can see them here in my Flickr feed

I love that pattern, the feminine shape, the gathers, the bows, the fabrics

Then I had an order for one, made from the fabrics used in her BGB

That’s short for Bionic Gear Bag

I just love that retro sewing equipment fabric…

so, I made this

I have used another bag design for the front and back pockets and the straps, I love this combination..

If you go and look at the Expandable Pack-it-In totes using the link above you will see the differences between my earlier bags and this one

I duly posted this bag off to my customer

It arrived the next day, and it was received with a lot of happy pleasure, however……it wasn’t big enough for the project my customer had in mind! I was a bit sad about this but I always want my customers to love their purchases from me, so I put out a call on my Facebook Page . I couldn’t believe the response, the bag was sold in minutes!! 🙂 My customer posted the bag to the new customer, this saved it being posted again by myself. It was sent by Special Delivery so the price is a bit steep to have to post it again..

It was decided that the bag needed to be 6″ (15cm) deeper to accommodate the single bed size ripple blanket and all the yarn and paraphernalia required when taking her blanket on a hike to her crochet group

So I ordered more of the same fabrics, requested a little more money to cover the extra fabrics needed and set to work…

and this is the result

isn’t she beautiful?

she’s so roomy…

The last photo shows my own folded single bed sized ripple blanket inside, you can see there’s plenty of room for other stuff inside…it does remind me of a moses basket but I don’t think it’s suitable really lol

I really want to make myself one of these bags, for use as a weekender, it’s so lovely

I particularly love that it stands up all on it’s own…all the fabrics used have been interfaced with a substantial woven cotton interfacing, theres also some cotton wadding inside for that luxury feel and a bit more structure

Hope you love it as much as I do

Right, back to work for me…

xx

PS If you like the look of my bags I have added some to my shop, you can find them here

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bionic gear bag, expandable pack-it-in tote, sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A tale of two bags

  1. They look great! I love the idea of a Bionic Gear bag!!

  2. mavis32 says:

    Looks lovely Marianne & the bag must be big to accommodate the lovely ripple blanket that was on my bed,xxxx

  3. josiekitten says:

    I think if I had a bag that size, my cat would also use it to sleep in on top of the knitting!! Love those fabrics.

Leave a Reply

