Lana Tote Bag

When I first saw this design, I knew I had to buy it, I loved the shape and the clever way it folds like a clam shell and fastens with a magnetic snap I came across the designer by just looking at bags on Pinterest, that place is so inspirational The designer is Delinda Boutique Designs and she is on Craftsy After purchasing the pattern, I immediately downloaded it and opened the PDF…on reading that I needed to add seam allowances I became a bit agitated lol…one of my pet hates is adding seam allowances but whilst working through the fabric cutting process I began to understand why the designer chose to do this. For the main pieces, which were pieced and then topstitched, you added seam allowances of 1/4″ to all sides except those which were placed on the fold. After cutting out all those pieces, the paper pattern pieces were joined as there was no decorative topstitching required on the lining…this is a good touch. I chose to print out the pieces again so that I could join them and then add the seam allowances. Is this all making sense? What I am saying is that I had the individual paper pieces for the main fabric and then the joined up paper pieces for the lining. This way I can reuse the pattern when I make more The instructions were nice and clear, placement lines and markings were all there on the pattern pieces. I did change how I inserted the zip though, I think my way looks crisper, and it was a lot easier too 😉 I love the angle where the straps are attached, oh and I changed how the straps were constructed, but think I might add in some fusible fleece next time, to make a more puffy handle Did I already tell you how much I love how this closes up? The magnetic snap gives a satisfying click before you put the bag on your shoulder Love the topstitching…. If I was to make this again, which I most certainly will, I would add a zipped pocket above the central main zip, somewhere to put your keys 😉

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, lana, sewing, shop, tote and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lana Tote Bag

  1. josiekitten says:

    That is another lovely bag Marianne, and you picked a beautiful fabric to show it off.

Leave a Reply

