La Moda Quilt

I felt the need to blog about this little quilt…it has been all consuming of my spare time for longer than I usually like to be making something! I came across the ‘In The Loop’ method of applique and embroidery whilst browsing Pinterest..that place also uses up too much of my time! After a search on the internet for something interesting to make using this technique, I came across this gorgeous quilt design I had no idea really of what I was doing, but I think I chose a well written pattern for my first attempt I sort of understood the instructions and just went with the flow, using both water soluble and tear away stabiliser A few blocks in, I realised that I should have been backing the blocks with something that would be hidden by the backing fabric, I was already using the backing fabric so I just continued as I had been as it seemed to be working. I joined the blocks differently to the instructions in the pattern, I used a technique I had learnt a couple of years ago for quilting as you go, on my Mum’s quilt and also the one that I made for Maisie (you’ll need to scroll down the page a bit to see her quilt) It was fascinating watching these pretty hats, bags and shoes emerging in the hoop on my embroidery machine…I could have gone off and done something else but I really wanted to watch what was going on I especially love the block of the hat with the gold veil on the top, it’s so clever! This little quilt is more of a show piece, not really my usually style, I don’t usually like to be so confined. I managed to fudge up one of the squares a bit but as it is for me, I didn’t bother redoing it I shall display this on my sewing room wall 🙂 I guess I need to tidy up my sewing room again, I really make such a mess in there when I am busy creating Hope you’re all enjoying the lovely Spring weather this weekend Barry has been photographing the birds in our garden today, wish the pigeons would go away!! I’ve been feeling really weird for a few days, and only today did I decide that I might be having a migraine attack. I took one of my magic tablets and a couple of hours later I felt so much better. Never had one like this before, so glad it’s gone but now I am feeling quite weary Enjoy the rest of the weekend M x

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to La Moda Quilt

  1. Jeannie says:

    I love this!

  2. mavis32 says:

    Looks lovely Marianne. So much hard work gone into it xx . Hope your migraine has disappeared xx

  3. josiekitten says:

    The quilt is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

