Handspun, Some Applique and a bit of Knitting

I needed to free up some of my bobbins so I set to work plying this deliciousness

100g 180 metres in my Jo colourway, a delicious blend of Polwarth Cashmere and Silk

Then I had caught the spinning bug and I spun this up

Delicious fat, uneven singles of some yummy camel and silk, my Southwold colourway

I’m now spinning some Polwarth to ply with the other bobbin full of singles

This colourway is called Monet’s Pond, it is one half of my luxury fibre club this month, although the fibre blend used for the club was 50% kid mohair 25% mulberry silk and 25% Polwarth, the colours are a bit more vibrant on that base, but this is quite beautiful

I’ll finish that lot of fat singles this evening and then hopefully, I’ll ply them together tomorrow

I finished knitting this cute little cardigan, hope it fits on of my Granddaughters…I love the design, 3/4 sleeves…

The pattern is in a book I bought years ago, by Nashua Handknits…lots of lovely designs to play with

I just need to find the right buttons..

I’ve also sewn some pretty little garments for but i’ll show you those another time

I’m going to do a bit more spinning now…

oh I almost forgot to show you this

it’s a gorgeous design from a fun book of embroidery techniques that I recently discovered

I love how the fabrics are layered and then trimmed away to reveal the pretty flowers and foliage

The book is called Machine Embroidered Quilting and Appliqué

You can see the little quilt that I’m making here…I did have trouble with getting my machine to recognise the files needed, nearly threw it out of the window at one stage, then it dawned on me that the hoops needed rotating in the digitizer software, everything seems to be working now…hope others haven’t been put off by this error on the CD, incidentally, my machine is the Janome 350e and I use JEF files

I’ve also started work on the really pretty Scallop bag in the book too 🙂

Right, now I’m off to do some spinning..

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in applique, in the hoop, knitting, machine embroidery, sewing, spinning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

