Keep It Simple Smock

This pretty little dress is called KISS, short for Keep It Simple Smock

I enjoyed making this up. There were only 4 pattern pieces and two of those were the gorgeous collar

I really love making my own bias binding, I felt that it would look fun in the same fabric as the dress itself

I love how the collar site so prettily and goes over the shoulders so neatly

I didn’t really enjoy sewing those curves but I will make this again as the finished results are beautiful

I love how the binding threads through the backs of the dress, creating gorgeous gathers and making it even more versatile

The designer suggests that the piece can be worn as a dress at first, then as the child grows, it can be worn as a tunic, over leggings, so it’s a really useful garment

You might wonder why I am making all these pretty little clothes…well, I am taking my sewn goods and hand dyed luxury fibres to a Maker’s Fair in July…click the link for more info 🙂

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keep It Simple Smock

  1. Pingback: Sunny Dress | Picperfic's Blog

  2. Pingback: Sailor Shorts for Maddie and some pretty Bridget Jones Knickers | Picperfic's Blog

  3. josiekitten says:

    Pretty! Does it use loads of fabric making your own bias binding?

    • lifebeginsat50 says:

      Not at all Helen, you get loads out of a 16″ square 🙂 the bonus being that I can make it to match my sewing. I love making it lol!

      On 31 May 2015 at 16:59, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

