Sunny Dress

I made this pretty dress the day before I made the KISS dress

I felt I should make a post about all the children’s clothes that I’ve been creating for the Maker’s Fair in the lovely village of Haddenham in Cambridgeshire, so here’s The Sunny Dress, which is the older version of the Rosebud Romper

I worked a pretty embroidery stitch on the ruffles this time, which is indeed what the pattern suggests

I did try to do a rolled hem on my overlocker, but this is a more substantial quilting weight fabric and it didn’t want to roll so evenly as the fine lawn fabric used in the Rosebud Romper

My hardest decision was which embroidery stitch to use! I plumped for a small star which wasn’t too slow at stitching, some of the stitches are so complicated and would have taken all day to stitch along the edges of those ruffles!

I love how the little stars worked along the top of the bodice, and when I hit the right place going up to the strap, and a star had been completed, I could turn my work and continue along the next part of the bodice, very satisfying

There are some bloomers to make to go with this little dress and as it looks to me to be a shorter style, I think that I should perhaps make some bloomers to go with it.

This is age four, would you put your four year old little girl in the bloomers?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunny Dress

  1. Wanda J says:

    Your work is impeccable and you have a wonderful eye for beauty which shows in everything you make. As for bloomers for a four year old: A matching (or nicely contrasting) pair of shorts would be a more acceptable alternate.

  2. josiekitten says:

    I love the embroidery stitch you chose and you have put together such nice fabrics too.

Leave a Reply

