Sailor Shorts for Maddie and some pretty Bridget Jones Knickers

Yesterday, either side of going to my Knit-n-Natter group, I made some shorts for Maddie, my 12 year old Granddaughter

I love the style of them, I can imagine them being so fun to wear at a dance class, especially tap dancing. They have a real 30s feel to them

The pockets are pretend, you just use some folded bias binding and zigzag stitch them in place, I used the binding that I had left over from making the KISS dress

The design calls for a strip of fabric for the loops to hold the turn ups in place, so I used some more of the wider binding that I had made for the KISS dress, love the bright citrus colours with the soft purple check

Also, the fabric was a bit flimsy, so I added some light interfacing to the backs of the turn ups and the front waistband and behind the buttons on the fronts. It worked very well, I hope these will fit Maddie, there is a bit of elastic in the back of the waist, so fingers crossed they will!

~*~

Yesterday evening, a customer of mine showed me this underwear pattern and asked me if I would make her some…I was immediately struck by the clean lines of the knickers and so I bought the pattern. It was Thursday, so Barry had gone to band practice and I went up to my sewing room and sewed myself a pair of knickers, not really knowing what size I was

Well, today, I am wearing those pants and I can honestly say that they are so very comfortable, but I might make the waist a bit tighter next time, fine under my leggings though šŸ˜‰

After breakfast this morning, I set to and made my customer a pair of these

I’ll send them off sometime today or Monday, I hope she loves them as much as I do! Excellent pattern, I can’t fault it!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sailor Shorts for Maddie and some pretty Bridget Jones Knickers

  1. josiekitten says:

    Love those knickers! ‘Hello Mummy’ comes to mind, but you cannot beat the comfort of ‘big knickers’!

    • lifebeginsat50 says:

      I already have an order for the knickers…they really are the most comfy pants you’ll ever wear!

      On 31 May 2015 at 17:02, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

