Sewing a Haven Sunsuit and Sundress

Last week I made a Haven Sunsuit, more about that further down the page 🙂

Haven Sunsuit

Today was spent sewing another Haven, this time I made the dress version

Haven Sundress

So much fun!

I found the beautiful lace in John Lewis, it was quite expensive but I only needed a small piece, I love the colour

Haven Sundress

I love the colour which tones so well with the pretty floral fabric

I used a fine cotton fabric, it is very smooth, almost a lawn in feel

Haven Sundress

I love making ruffles but what I love more is a neat rolled edge. I am very lucky to own a beautiful Babylock Evolution overlocker and it does this magic wave stitch where it pulls up one of the looper threads and then it pulls in the opposite direction

Haven Sundress

I used two different coloured variegated topstitch threads in the loopers…one of the colours matched the colour of the lace on the bodice and the other was in paler colours within the fabric

The back of this little dress is so pretty, with the ruffles and the fine rouleau straps tying into a pretty bow at the back of the neck

The first Haven that I made was the shorts version

Haven Sunsuit

I inserted some lace on the bodice, as I did for the dress, only I put the pretty edge of the lace on the top for the dress, it was too lovely to hide away in a seam

It is still gorgeous though

DSC_8215 copy

I used a lovely shot red cotton for the shorts and a fine cotton lawn for the bodice

Oh and a plain rolled edge on the ruffles

Haven Sunsuit

There is nothing plain about this pattern, it must be a good one if I sew it more than once

These are both in an age four size, I shall have to trace off a different size if I am going to make it again

There are so many options with Haven…you can add a big sash and bow to make it even more special, or a layer of tulle over the skirt

This pattern is by Violet Field Threads, I can feel that I need to try another of her designs

Wonder what I’ll create tomorrow?

All this crazy sewing activity will slow down a bit after the Maker’s Fair on the 4th and 5th July…maybe I need to make a few more bags?

I also need to tell you more about my day spent at Sourdough School on Friday…really, I had the best day, but more about that another time 🙂

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing a Haven Sunsuit and Sundress

Leave a Reply

