My Sharona

Ever since I was asked if I’d take this pattern for a test drive, I have been singing this song! Did you click…are you now singing it too?

The design is by Maria of DelindaBoutiqueDesigns

It’s always a pleasure when Maria asks me if I’ll test a new design, I know it will something a little bit different

So what do I think of the bag…well I love it! The large pocket on the front pleases me and it pleases me even more because of the gorgeous seaside fabric I used…

I never know what fabrics I am going to put together, I just walk around my room holding up the favourite fabric to other fabrics and then I can see if there is a good fabric to contrast with the main. Luckily this gorgeous bag didn’t need much more than a remnant for the front pocket but it is definitely the focal point of the bag

Inside there a zipped pocket and an open pocket, you can see that the bag closes with a magnetic snap, I’ve used a funky square one, goodness knows where I got them from! They just seemed to go with the rest of the bag

DSC_8464 copy

I love how the handles stand up all on their own, but that clever zipped pocket on the back is so neat! They’re the perfect length to sit on your shoulder but the pattern is easy to adjust if you’d like a longer handle

If you want a more structured shape to the bag, you can use headliner, or Bosal, or Soft & Stable, they’re all foam stabilisers,  I don’t enjoy working with that stuff too much so I went for an extra layer of interfacing and some fusible fleece, it worked well, it’s not quite slouchy!

DSC_8469 copy

Another view of the magnetic snaps, you can see there’s also one on the front pocket

All in all, this is a fun project to make, surprisingly quick to sew too…if you’d like to make your own Sharona, you can find the pattern here

This is just one of the bags that will be on show next weekend on my stall at the Handmade in Haddenham event that I keep talking about…

Hope you all have a lovely weekend, I’ve just had a BakeryBits delivery so you’ll probably find me in the kitchen, if not then I’ll be in the garden or my sewing room… 🙂

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in delinda boutique designs, pattern testing, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Sharona

  1. josiekitten says:

    I remember this song and yes, I am now singing it!! Lovely bag, you always manage to pick such lovely fabric combinations. Good luck with your sewing event. I hope you sell loads!

    • lifebeginsat50 says:

      I’ll be taking all my fibres with me, I have more than what is on show in my shop, and I’m selling it for £10 per 100g, whatever the blend….don’t think there’ll be many spinners there though, maybe I need to spread the word!

      On 28 June 2015 at 16:05, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

