Dangling Conversation

Dangling Conversation

It’s been a while since I blocked a shawl, a few years I’d say….

This curving shawlette had me fooled for a while as I was knitting it

I didn’t realise that the long curving beaded edge was actually the neck edge

It wasn’t meant to be this big, but once I started I couldn’t stop, I love adding beads with a tiny crochet hook, the pattern is rhythmical and easy to remember once you get going

I love the twinkling beads

I have used them on the long curved edge and on the cast off edge

DSC_8698 copy

Where the beads are placed is unusual, but I love not to conform, it is hard to work out where you are in the pattern, which side goes where?

The photos of it blocking show the shawl soaking wet, I let it rest in the Eucalan bath for about half an hour before squeezing it and pinning it out

The yarn is some handspun of mine, Polwarth and Kid Mohair, in my Red Delicious colourway

The kid mohair is giving the surface a wonderful soft halo

I love how the stitches have opened in the blocking, I really think I am going to love wearing this

Oh, I made the larger size, but then I wanted to keep on knitting with this delicious lace yarn, I didn’t want to waste any, so my Dangling Conversation is rather off centre which adds to the unique quality of it!

The pattern can be found here, I’ll make this one again, that’s for sure

I’m in the middle of a bout of cluster migraines…feel druggy and yukky but I know I will be feeling more like myself in a few days time. I hate it when these headaches strike, so frustrating when I have so much I want to be doing!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in knitting, migraine, spinning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dangling Conversation

  1. Wanda J says:

    Lovely, and fun shawl! I’m so sorry you’re dealing with a bout of clusters. Well I know the pain. I hope they’ll go away soon!

  2. It looks really good! I have to confess, I find blocking really difficult and avoid it as much as possible but I do have a few things that need blocking and something I’m making at the moment will definitely need blocking. Am trying to ignore the things waiting to be blocked at the moment though! What is your best method? So sorry about the migraines 😦

    • picperfic says:

      I really don’t like blocking either, my knees and back won’t let me kneel anymore without difficulty. I felt this shawl needed blocking though. For garments, I tend to sew them up before i block them, hope the knitting police don’t read this haha 🙂

  3. mavis32 says:

    This shawl looks rather lovely Marianne . Hope you are soon feeling yourself again xx

  4. josiekitten says:

    That’s beautiful Marianne. Love the added sparkle from the beads too. Hope you are feeling better now. Migraines are so horrid.

  5. Shiela says:

    Thanks for recommending this pattern it looks great! I love the asymmetry! Your yarn looks lovely too, I bet the colour suits you, are there any pictures yet of you wearing it?

    • lifebeginsat50 says:

      Not yet Shiela, it’s been too warm, but going by the weather today, I don’t think it will be long before I wear it 🙂

      On 13 August 2015 at 09:49, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

