Machine Knitted Lace

Light Blue Lace Yoke Cardigan Lambswool Machine Knitted (5)

Machine knitting lace needs total concentration

Or this can happen

oops lace carriage knitmaster

It’s ‘clattered off’ as my husband likes to call it! When it does that, it always makes me jump and then swear…bigly! I don’t swear too much normally but ‘clattering off’ gets me every time!!

Not the first time either, it happened about 4 times altogether

20425128235_de015ce569_k

I rehung the knitting the next day and carried on fine, shaping the pieces is the problem, oh and remembering to put the yarn back into the lace carriage after transferring the stitches over 6 passes of the carriage, and also remembering to move the dial on the carriage…I think I’m back into the swing of it now though…I liken it to that thing we did as children, rubbing your head and patting your tummy!!

Light Blue Lace Yoke Cardigan Lambswool Machine Knitted (1)

I love the look of the fashion lace, it just takes a lot of brain power…..you simply cannot whizz through the lace, it’s quicker to do the ordinary lace that transfers and knits at the same time, but you would still have the shaping to deal with

I managed to shape the back neck by taking the stitches back out of working position using the ravel cord, I even managed to wrap the stitches

I used some of Uppingham Yarn’s beautiful Lambswool

The pretty rolled edge and tuck is the same as I have used on two of my designs

Light Blue Lace Yoke Cardigan Lambswool Machine Knitted (3)

This cardigan took me ages to knit, in the past, I would knit a cardigan like this in about 2 days, but each of those pieces with the lace on took me at least a day to produce

Light Blue Lace Yoke Cardigan Lambswool Machine Knitted (2)

I love the shape of this cardigan, I have tried it on and I prefer it left unbuttoned. The fabric is soft and has movement and the garment works well as a lightweight jacket

Light Blue Lace Yoke Cardigan Lambswool Machine Knitted (4)

All in all, I am glad that I persevered with this, I would have liked it to be a bit more fitted so I’ll probably knit another but at a tighter tension.

I wanted to throw the lace carriage out of the window at times…when it ‘clattered off’ I walked away and did some handknitting instead

wentworth rowan kidsilk haze yarn bowl

This is my Wentworth Cardigan 

Those of you that have visited me over the last couple of years will have seen this beautiful yarn bowl full of the colourful Rowan Kidsilk Haze. The way this bowl looks pleases me no end and it had become a very beautiful ornament! Not any more, I have nearly finished the whole of the back and fronts…

But I have also been knitting something else

Yell Rowan colourspun

This is a jumper for Barry, it’s from the new Rowan magazine and is called Yell!

The twisted rib is worked on the front and back of the knitting, it’s enjoyable to knit but a bit tough on my hands though so I am alternating with the Wentworth which is such a joy to knit as long as I get the colour sequence in order

I have finished a sleeve of the Yell and I handed it to Barry to admire, he proceeded to put it on and then he carried on watching the television

file0_medium2

I think he likes it 🙂

He’s wearing shorts in case you were worried…haha

My last daily migraine lifted on Saturday, so that was two weeks they were with me…I am still a bit under the weather from them but it is great to be pain free again 🙂

Now I need to tidy up the house, it’s had 2 weeks off and is a bit disorderly to say the least!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in knitting, machine knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Machine Knitted Lace

  1. Freyalyn says:

    Gorgeous cardigan, beautiful knitting. I am in awe of your machine skills.

  2. This is really lovely! I’ve never learned to machine knit, it seems so complicated, but seeing what you can achieve, it might be worth learning one day! Do you still get that soothing feeling that you get from hand knitting, or is it all a big stress the whole time?

    • picperfic says:

      It’s not the same feeling, but it’s fun most of the time. I like to hand sew my machine knits even though I have a linker. That part is the calm bit…the speed of knitting is the joyful part. Hand knitting is my evening therapy 😉

      On 11 August 2015 at 09:59, Picperfic's Blog wrote:

      >

  3. josiekitten says:

    It’s beautiful Marianne.I especially like the rolled edging, it finishes it off perfectly. Glad you are feeling better now. xx

Leave a Reply

