Fusion Sourdough

My flour supplies are running low but I did have enough of the type 00 flour and jumbo rolled oats needed to make another Rolled Oat Sourdough Boule

This post is really so that I have a record of how I made this delicious loaf, sorry if it rambles a bit..

I always half the ingredients to make a smaller loaf, halfing 75g can be a bit problematic so I round that measurement up to 40g

~*~

Yesterday, I made a conscious effort to buy the ingredients needed to make the Muesli Loaf in the brilliant book by Emmanuel Hadjiandreou, Making Bread Together

I had the flours needed, Rye and Wholemeal, I added these in the quantities suggested in the Muesli Bread recipe and made up the difference to the 500g used in the Rolled Oat Boule recipe with the type 00 flour. This is the fusion part, 2 recipes 1 result 🙂

When I added the water I also added 5g of Diax Malt powder, this has made the bread sort of sticky, in a wonderful malt loaf sort of a way

I kept back 25g of the water and the salt until I had done the autolyse of the levain, water and flour, after 30 minutes I added the salt mixed with the 25g water and all the other add ons in the recipe, toasted hazelnuts, whole almonds, pumpkin and sunflower seeds and a handful of golden linseeds. I couldn’t find the type of coconut called for in the recipe so that was left out (not sure I would like it in the bread anyway, I spent ages looking for it too!)

The mixture felt a little dry, I will add a bit extra water next time, perhaps another 25-50g

When I did the stretching and folding of the dough it didn’t have a lot of movement to it and tended to break if I lifted it too high , another reason for adding a bit more water

The dough rose easily and it was fun to keep popping back to see that it had risen a bit more!

The muesli loaf calls for honey to be added to the mixture, I decided to hide the honey by drizzling it over the gently flattened dough prior to shaping

When attempting to do the final shaping of the boule, the dough didn’t want to play much and so I just plonked it in the banneton and hoped for the best

Once risen to the top of the banneton, I cooked the dough in La Cloche after slashing the top in a most pleasing way, in fact it was the most successful of my loaf slashing episodes ever haha!

After 30 minutes I removed the lid of La Cloche and noticed that the loaf had split quite a lot, in fact, it was split down to the honey layer and this is what caused the loaf to char slightly

I couldn’t wait for the loaf to cool much before slicing it and have a taste…absolutely scrummy and definitely one to be made again and again!

Love how the nuts look when they’re sliced through

DSC_0307

Now I need to do some sewing but the day is nearly over…where does the time go?!?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in baking, bread, Sourdough and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fusion Sourdough

  1. That looks delish. Where do you buy malt powder??

Leave a Reply

