Bag of The Month Club

For some reason, I felt compelled to join this club last year. I’d noticed people talking about the Bag of the Month Club and thought it might be fun. So glad I did if this first bag is anything to go by…

So I took out an early subscription which saved me even more money…$35 for 6 bag patterns from known designers can’t be bad…the price is now $40 but that is still less than $7 per design!! I usually half the dollar amount to work out the sort of GBP price 😉

You can find the details here

Anyway, here is my bag

The Backgammon Bag by Betz White

So clever, if/when I make this bag again I might try paper piecing the triangles to get cleaner points

This is my favourite photo of it, this is the back of the bag, the pocket is the same back and front, they both close with a magnetic snap

I chose a delicious aubergine purple linen for the bag and found a pretty contrasting Tula Pink fabric, the purple matched so well but I didn’t have enough of that fabric for the lining

I love the twist lock on the flap, my first ever, so much easier than I thought it would be

You can see the lining in that last photo, it is a Lewis and Irene design I think, someone might know better? I love the pop of lime green and the little dandelion seedheads make for a cute fresh hope of summer!

Of course, my bunnies, who live at the back of my sofa, just had to get in on the photo shoot, gives you an idea of the size of the lovely bag too.

This bag is for sale, I’ve not put it into my shop yet but if you’re interested then drop me a line…

Last week I made a pile of these cute phone cases

That’s my own one, I love the design by Embroidery Garden

I also love using my Kam Snap pliers, much more fun that those old fashioned metal poppers! The colours really make it fun to choose which one will feature on each little bag!

All these have sold but I’ll be making a new batch as soon as I can…!

So now, I will get back to my tax return….every year, after I send it off, I say to myself, I’ll get that sorted as soon as I can after 5th April, but do I? Nah!! Maybe this year?!?

Oh and right now, I have some sweet vanilla sourdough proving, which will hopefully turn into some cinnamon buns, any volunteers to eat them up? I have lost a few pounds since last June and don’t want to put the weight back on but I love to cook! I am really enjoying the whole sourdough experience….it fits in with my lifestyle, nothing needs doing in a hurry, slow and steady….

Lots of people are struggling in some way or another right now, I had my turn of the nasties at the end of last year, but I do think I am starting to get back to my old self again now…..I just need to see some sunshine and a few Spring bulbs wouldn’t go amiss…

Special love to my friend Sarah….X

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bag of The Month Club

  1. josiekitten says:

    The bag is beautiful Marianne and yet again you’ve picked a winning combination of fabrics. I was too slow off the mark for one of your phone cases, I’ll have to keep my eyes open! I can’t wait for some brighter days. We went up to Wells-next-the-Sea last weekend when the weather was better and it reminded me of the lovely time we had there together. I must investigate the sour dough, I love baking!

Leave a Reply

