Homemade potions

Recently I’ve been experimenting with home made lotions and I’ve been so impressed with the results

I have no eczema on the backs of my arms since I’ve been making my own body wash and moisturiser using organic ingredients and essential oils

I also made some face moisturising lotion a while back but i put too much essential oil into it and although it was a great moisturiser and left no horrid residue on my skin, I felt it was a little runny. I used it all up though!

So today, I made up some more of the lotion and doubled the quantities which made it so much easier to measure the tiny quantities of most of the ingredients

Don’t they look posh! Each of those tubes contains 30ml of lotion, I also refilled my original pot with what was left over and have already been using it. I am thoroughly moisturised, all up my arms, several times haha 🙂 I find it hard to just wash up the bowls that I’ve used, there is so much good stuff clinging to the insides of the bowl. How many times can I moisturise myself today?

I also made some facial cleansing butter

I had been using plain coconut oil to deep cleanse my face and neck, and that is really brilliant but I find it so hard to get out of the pot, I think I can whip it though which might make it easier to use. Also, now and then, I get a bit of the coconut oil in my eyes, as I like to use it to remove my eye make up too.

The cleansing butter above uses sweet almond oil and shea butter, when cool enough it is whipped and then you add some essential oil, I used the sweet orange and mandarin oils again as I love the smell. I’ll let you know how I get on using this stuff…

Then i thought I’d make some lip balm, one is just melted shea butter with a couple of drop of rose geranium oil in each pot. Very rich and moisturising. The other is a honey and orange lip balm which is very tasty!

They haven’t all set yet in the photo…I’ve got lovely moisturised lips now as I spilt some on the work surface and couldn’t waste it, I also rubbed some into my nails, it can’t hurt!

I also made up a delicious strawberry and cream mousse for dessert this evening. It is sugar and fat free and as I’m doing a SW diet at the moment, it fits the bill nicely and there’s plenty to last another day or two if we’re not too greedy with it!

​I’m feeling very laid back here, all those essential oils are getting to me lol​

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in organic DIY body potions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade potions

  1. Go on! I make my cream myself as well and I’m more than satisfied! I tried other commercial ones from time to time, but I went back to mine! So you know what you are using!

  2. Mavis Dean says:

    All scrapings gratefully accepted 🙂 xxxxh

  3. Same team here, I create my own cream and deodorant as well. Great post!
    Sabrina –
    http://www.OrganicIsBeautiful.com

  4. josiekitten says:

    These look great. You’ll have to let me know if you find anything for really dry hands.

Leave a Reply

